Surrounded by Temptation!

cookies, pies

I know. I know. I told you yesterday that there would be fewer posts during the next week or two yesterday.  And, here I am with another post.  Well, something happened to me today that might happen to you in the next couple of days.

There I was simply walking from one room into another.  Unsuspecting.  Feeling safe and secure.  Then, as I entered the room I was suddenly surrounded from out of nowhere.  A surprise attack.  Ambushed.

Cookies to my left.

Two cakes to my right.

An apple pie to my left.

Ice cream in the freezer.

There was no escape! I was surrounded.

And, people were embracing the enemy.  The enemy was giving them comfort and a false sense of security.  And, I wanted it, too.  I wanted to eat a cookie.  No, I wanted a dozen cookies.  Good cookies.  Maybe one big cookie with ice cream. I didn’t care.  I was just overcome with desire for something…anything.

Maybe just one cookie.  One.  What could it hurt?  But, I did’t want just one.  I wanted more.  My heart was pounding.  My desire was real and palpable. What was I going to do?

The reality is that this kind of desire rarely hits me.  I very rarely want sweets.  And, when I do, a bit will normally take care of that desire.  Just one bite.  But, today, literally today, I wanted more.  Have you ever felt that?

And, what did I do?

I thought about the 70 pounds I had lost.  I thought about controlling a disease – Type 2 Diabetes.  It all happened in just a matter of a minute – not any longer.

And, I decided that the price was too high to give in to my momentary desire for any one of those wonderful looking desserts. I decided that controlling Diabetes was more important.  I decided that my weight loss was more important.  I knew that if I didn’t say no, that I would have more that just a bite, or two.

That was my decision.  That was the way I handled being surrounded and just wanting.  I wasn’t hungry.  I wasn’t thirsty. But the urge felt so primal; so strong that it was an act of will to walk out of the room without having anything.  And, once out of the room, I was just fine.  And, I felt great!

During the next day or two or seven you may well be facing the same ambush.  And, you will have a choice.  A choice to fight, or not fight.  A choice to follow that almost primal urge, or to take a deep breath and walk away.  What are you going to do?

Look, I know it’s not about a bite of something, it’s about having 27 bites of something so sweet and delicious that it must have been made by the hands of angels.  But, the truth is that the price is too high.  It does not matter if you are just starting your battle or are used to having daily control, you might be suddenly ambushed and have a decision to make.

Sometimes it’s just best to walk away; turning your back and not giving in to what used to be trusted and valued ‘friends.’ Yeah, friends.  Just look where they led you.  Diabetes and/or added weight.

It will be easy to surrender to that ambush.  There will be folks around trying to push food and desserts on you.  Be kind. Be courteous.  Be firm. If you must, have just a bite.  And, they will all marvel at your will-power and wish they had it, too. They will marvel at your weight loss and wish they could lose weight, too.  They will ask your secret, thinking there must be some secret involved.

The truth is, “No, thank you” can be a very powerful weapon in your War On Diabetes and weight.  They, too, could employ the same tool – it just takes practice and a willingness to value your health more than you value desserts or high carb foods.

You can do this.  You can say, “No, thank you.”  You can control your Diabetes.  You can control your weight.  Even during this time of the year.  And, in return you will learn you are far stronger than you think; you will feel great about yourself.

My reward for not having some wonderful sweet earlier in the day?  I ‘allowed myself’ to walk an extra half-mile tonight.  Don’t laugh.  I felt great doing it – far better than I would have felt eating a cookie or 12.

Is it going to be easy?  Not everyday. Most days will go very well.  But, every once in a while you will be ambushed.  Don’t be surprised when it happens.  Just take a deep breath and remember the battles you are winning; and, win one more.

What happens if you give in?  What happens if you surrender?  A higher glucose level.  A few added pounds.  Ground lost in the War.  But, you pick yourself up.  Dust yourself off.  And, do battle the next day.

Not everyday is easy.  Some days are really tough.  You can win.  You are already winning your War On Diabetes or Weight.  Just keep winning because that is worth far more than any cookie or dessert could be. You CAN do it.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
One comment on “Surrounded by Temptation!
  1. beetleypete says:

    Well done for avoiding temptation Phil.
    Regards from England, as always, Pete.

Leave a comment

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,008 other subscribers
Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author (18+)

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Dr Ashley Ng

Humanising diabetes care and education

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals