On The Way to New Year’s Eve…

NewYearsEve

Work was winding down on Dec. 31st.  It had not been busy and we were going home early.  I was looking forward to a quiet evening at home – safe and warm.  Had a movie all picked out to watch.  Dinner was planned.  All very quiet and homey.  I assumed I would be up at midnight to wish my wife a Happy New Year and to thank her for the one past.

Then, sometime around 4:00 or 4:30 in the afternoon, I began to get a bit tired.  Okay, more tired than usual.  Downright sleepy, in fact.  Kind of strange, but I shrugged it off realizing I had not had my snack.  So, I ate my snack…and I did not reel any more energetic after having it.  I felt, well, sluggish and had a headache.

Okay, what was going on?  I got home and had dinner.  Still feeling tired.  Very strange for me.

What was going on?  I’ll tell you.  For the first time in four years I was not feeling well.  I was quite literally surprised. Surprised that I was not feeling well and surprised it took me hours to figure it out.  Why so long?

The simple answer is that when I began to eat a bit less and to get a little regular exercise, I stopped getting ill.  No cold.  No flu.  No sinus congestion.  Nothing.  I had been sickeningly healthy.  I used to get ill about twice a year – most of the time due to sinus issues.  I’d miss one or two days of work.  Sleep a lot.  Take a few aspirins, decongestants, and cough meds.  And, then everything was good.

But, was it really?

Since being diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes and making a change here and there, I now know I was looking at the world through a slight haze.  My life was kind of like that commercial where things are blurry, you take a med and life is clear and in focus.

in focus

Well, life is in focus and clear.  And, it has nothing to do with meds and everything to do with how I eat and what I eat; it’s because I have Diabetes under control – and so can you.  No special “get healthy diet;” I just eat a balanced diet and watch portion size.  It really is that easy!  Eat a bit less.  A few more fresh vegetables and fruit; fewer carbs; add a dash of exercise (trust me, I don’t over do it in any manner) and do you know what you have?  Health and you are controlling Diabetes!

How great is that?

You have heard it before: You are what you eat.  If you eat a balanced diet of smaller meals and snacks; add a bit of exercise; you give your body a chance to be at its best.  You will just naturally lose weight; it’s inevitable. You see, I didn’t know what being truly healthy was for some 25+ years.  That all changed when I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes because I took the disease seriously and made a few little changes.

Win your War On Diabetes and not only do you control a disease – your quality of health can be great.

As always, thank you for reading and sharing.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control
One comment on “On The Way to New Year’s Eve…
  1. beetleypete says:

    Julie has those occasional ‘fuzzy’ days, where she doesn’t feel too good, but she normally manages to work out why, eventually. Good advice as always Phil.
    Regards from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

