A Lesson Re-Learned

i-will-learn-my-lesson

So, there I was.  Going into a grocery store to get some of the granola-type bars I was using for a snack.  Those snacks are an important part of my War On Diabetes. They not only help control my hunger between meals; I am normally less hungry at meal times, so it’s easier for me to eat smaller amounts.

Makes sense, right?  I eat less overall.  My glucose remains lower and more constant; and – get this – I keep my weight under control. It all works together.  For me – and I emphasize for me – part of my War On Diabetes is a war on weight.

Meanwhile, back at the store, I can’t find my usual granola bars.  They are lower carb bars, taste good and curb my hunger. What’s not to like?  I’ll tell you – the store no longer carried them.  They were there two weeks ago and the day I went in they were gone and there was no label on the shelf for them to be re-stocked.

What do I do?  I read all of the labels I read over a year ago when I came across the ones I was using.  They were all telling me the same thing: Carb counts of 25 to 30 per serving.  Too high for my snack.  For the next couple of weeks I put a bit of peanut butter on some lower carb bread; I was able to have a snack that met my reduced carb requirements and curbed my hunger.

Then, I come across a package that contained two granola bars.  Two.  If I eat one, just one, I get the carb count I want and need – about 15, or a bit less.  Half the package, half the carbs.  In fact, the package lists nutritional information for one bar and two bars.  How much plainer could they make it?  There was no rule that told me I had to have two of the bars. And, my immediate hunger is satisfied.

I re-learned a lesson I learned and use almost daily.  Half an orange is okay.  Half of a banana or on apple is just fine.  Why didn’t I just automatically apply it to the granola bar snack?

I wish I could tell you, but I can’t.  I didn’t take the simple lesson of half is okay, is just fine, and apply it to the packaged product.

oranges

Chances are you might be laughing at me at this point.  Enjoy it.  I’d be laughing at me, too.  In fact, I did when it suddenly dawned on me that I had not applied the basic lesson I wrote about some months ago, In Which Half Is Better Than None.

Just a reminder: portion sizes are really important as you work to control Diabetes, and weight.  Read the labels to learn what the specific portion size is and follow it to figure out how many carbs (or calories) you are getting.  Please.  Portion control is a huge weapon in your War On Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading and sharing.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
One comment on “A Lesson Re-Learned
  1. beetleypete says:

    A good example as always Phil. You always manage to give us something to think about.
    Regards from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

