Make Your Exercise Social

Snoopy_and_Woodstock_by_Methos84

I have noticed that most folks are not like me (and, maybe that’s a good thing!) because I enjoy exercising alone; I like my alone time when I walk.  I find it clears my brain; allows me to link random thoughts sometimes; and, gives me a sense of peace and tranquility (endorphins at work).  All of that from a 30 minute walk.

But, I know not everyone is like me in that way.  For one reason or another they need to be with another person in some manner to push them a little, or even just to keep them company.  I understand that.  And, I know that some need that implied social contract, or agreement with another that exercise will happen at a specific time and place.  Otherwise, they might not get their exercise which is so necessary in fighting Diabetes and weight.

Okay, just to be clear, I know that Diabetes and weight do not always go hand-in-hand, but it is a ‘marker’ for those who might get the disease.

So, whether you are fighting your War On Diabetes or fighting Diabetes and Weight (or, just weight) exercise is incredibly important.  It’s one of the few weapons you have to fight with, so wouldn’t it be wise to use it?

You want to exercise.  You want to get out and walk, bike, or go to the gym…but Survivor is on (that’s why they make DVRs); or you had a tough day at work; or, the dog didn’t greet you when you came home.  There are so many reasons not to exercise, but they all kind of fall away when you’ve made a commitment to another to exercise and they are holding you accountable.

So, how are you gong to find that person?

Well, maybe they are at your workplace.  A neighbor. A friend.  From your church.  Maybe they are a Facebook friend in another state who will exercise when you do and you use text messages to encourage one another.  Or, maybe you can talk on the phone and encourage one another as you walk or exercise.  Heck, I’ve even seen an ad on Craigslist searching for an exercise buddy.

The point is, if you need that extra dose of accountability to get you going, find it.  Trust me on this, based on my observation in my neighborhood, a lot of folks need that same thing.  I see groups of two and three walking or running together everyday.

What do you need to look for in your exercise buddy?  Try and find someone who is just a bit ahead of you.  If you are just starting, find someone who has just lowered their A1c or lost a little weight and can easily remember what it was like in the beginning.  Someone who clearly remembers that it was hard to get out at first and who will encourage you.

Or, maybe you’ve been at it for a bit, and you need someone to push you a little.  Someone to help you break through to the next step in exercise.  Someone who can encourage you about Diabetes Control and/or weight loss.  Someone who understands just how boring and challenging you find this time.

Or maybe, just maybe, you have hit your goals and want to help another who is beginning. Maybe you can remember the literal pain of your first day of exercise and can help someone during those first crucial weeks.  I know I said that you might want to find someone who is just ahead of you in the world of exercise, but this might be a case of being a buddy with one who has been there, done that, and has the t-shirt.

If you need, or would like the ‘social’ aspect of exercise, get it.  Please don’t let it stand in your way of getting out and starting a regular routine of exercise.  Take control of your fight and win. You can do it.

Look, this is so very important, that I will offer myself as an exercise buddy.  I’ll do this in two ways.  One, go to Twitter and follow War_On_Diabetes.  Beginning Monday I will twitter specific encouraging quotes and thoughts about exercise.  The goal is to motivate and get you out exercising.

The second way, and this will be on a first come, first served basis, is that I will actually walk with you during a phone call.  I cannot do this every night, but will set aside one or two evenings or afternoons a week to exercise with someone.  This is how important this issue of a buddy is for some folks – and I understand that.  I can do it once or twice with you and then you can find a regular buddy.

One thing to remember, I ask that you be in the United States – international phone rates are a killer.  And, remember I am on the West Coast when thinking about time.

So, if you want a temporary buddy, complete the form below.  And, as always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
One comment on “Make Your Exercise Social
  1. beetleypete says:

    Getting a dog is the biggest motivation for ‘having’ to exercise. The poor mutt has to go out, whatever the weather, and whatever else you have to do that day. I walk Ollie for 2-3 hours a day, but you don’t need to do it for so long. I have also met lots of fellow dog-walkers, and some have become good friends, as a result.
    Your dog will thank you, and your body will thank you too.
    Regards from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

