Why I Control My Diabetes

keep calm and control

Why should you control Diabetes?  Controlling Diabetes is all over the internet and in every piece of literature you’ve been given since you were diagnosed.  It’s assumed that you want to control the disease.  But, why should you?  Why should you wage War On Diabetes?

The truth is, I don’t know why you should.  I don’t know what would motivate you to control your Diabetes.

But, I can tell you why I control mine.  Maybe that will help.

I remember when my doctor told me I had Type 2 Diabetes.  He came in, gave me my diagnosis and told me I’d be on meds for the rest of my life. He was gentle and kind about it, but also direct.  My A1c was 13.0 and he was a bit worried.  My first thoughts?  The terrible complications I had heard about.  In my mind, I had already lost a foot and was looking at dialysis. Folks who know me will tell you I have a fairly powerful imagination.

My doctor went on to tell me about a patient who was controlling their Diabetes through diet and exercise.  He explained their exercise was merely walking 30 minutes a day.  At that moment, being off of meds was not my goal.  Keeping both of my feet was!

So, it was fear in the beginning that got me working right away.  It was fear that motivated me to wage my War.  It was fear that made me start walking that night.  Not far, mind you.  But, I walked 30 minutes.  I got my meds.  Set-up an appointment with a dietician and nurse.  Set up an appointment to get another A1c test in 60 days.  All motivated by fear of what could happen if I didn’t do something.

The truth is that I was much worse than I knew.  I didn’t know enough to know that an A1c of 13.0 was really high.  I didn’t know that my cold feet were an indication of poor circulation.  I didn’t know a lot!

So, it started with fear.  But, you know what I found out?  Fear only took me so far.  It took me to an A1c of 7.0 and the loss of 60 pounds.  I took Diabetes very seriously.  And, still do.  But, the fear of the disease left me.

So, why did I keep fighting my War?  Why did I fight to control it better?

Reason enough to control Diabetes, don't you think?

Reason enough to control Diabetes, don’t you think?

Family. Loved ones.  Wife.  Sons. Daughter-in-law. Grand children. They are why I fought and continue to fight.  They are my reason for winning. I don’t want my life shortened by Diabetes.  I don’t want Dialysis controlling when and if I can see them.  I want to be able to run with the grand children.  To be able to walk in a 10K with my son. To walk on the beach with my other son.  To see my grand children graduate from high school, college and attend weddings.

These are the reasons I control my Diabetes.  These are the reasons why each day I wage War On Diabetes and why I fight to win. These are the reasons why I lost weight and will keep it off.  These are the reasons why I am more careful about my diet.  These are the reasons why I walk each night.

And, you know what?  These reasons are worth it!

What are your reasons for controlling Diabetes?  Your reasons can be fear, or love, or family, or just because you want to do it, or any combination of reasons.  The specific reasons don’t matter; it only matters that you fight your War On Diabetes.

You can control the disease.  You can be victorious.  Just find your reason to win the War

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control
One comment on “Why I Control My Diabetes
  1. beetleypete says:

    When I started as a paramedic in London, I was told that over 75% of leg/partial leg amputations were caused by circulation problems from uncontrolled Diabetes. Almost forty years later, that figure has been significantly lowered, but it is still at a frightening level. Good enough reason alone Phil, to make everyone think about controlling that disease properly.
    Regards from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

