The Best Laid Plans – Managing Diabetes and Weight During the Holidays

Plan A Plan B

It’s that time of the year, as if you didn’t know.  Family in town.  Shopping. Parties.  Surrounded by food.  Loved ones and Family wanting attention; and you want to give it to them. So many wonderful things going on.

And, then there’s Diabetes.

The thing is that controlling Diabetes (or, fighting Prediabetes) requires a dash of discipline and a bit of exercise. Or, all of the work you have put into lowering blood sugar and/or losing weight goes up in smoke. You know what I am talking about, don’t you?  But, family sometimes doesn’t.

My son and his family have been visiting for the last ten days or so.  Their home is almost 2,000 miles away – quite a distance.  And, while I want to spend as much time as possible, I also have to work, exercise and watch what I eat.  And, there are times when I just have to choose what I am going to do.  Well, guess what wins?  Probably not what you expect from me. Family and loved ones always win.

When that happens, I lose one of the two weapons I have to fight Diabetes – exercise.  I lose my walk, and have lost it since they got here.  Yes, I stayed active.  I made sure that when I had to park the car, I tried not to park close so I could get a little walk.  I made sure I took every opportunity to get up and walk at work.  I took a few minutes during my lunches and walked a bit.

And, it all added up to enough to maintain normal, but it took extra effort.

Of course, I watched my diet pretty carefully.  I lowered the number of carbs I was eating – which really wasn’t that hard.  For me it was just a bit less of grains and bread.  For filler I used broccoli and celery with a bit of humus.  Yes, I’ve learned to like humus – it’s actually good stuff and wish I had been eating it all along.

Anyway, my point is that with the holidays and demands being put on your time; spending time with folks you love, what you do to fight Diabetes might have to be altered a little.  Be flexible.  I spent several days being a bit nervous that I was not walking or getting my exercise.  And, that was just plain dumb.

Learn from my error.  And, it was an error.  Every time I checked my glucose, I was well within my target range – 85 to 100 depending on when I checked.  Whatever I was doing, it was enough.  And, bluntly, I leaned on the Diet weapon a bit more than normal; thought about each bite and food choice before I ate or put food on a plate.

I had to adjust my battle plan.  What that quote?

“No battle plan survives contact with the enemy.” – Helmuth Von Moltke

bigger gettyburg

There will times when our best laid plans have to be changed.  Be flexible.  Adjust your War plan so you can continue to win the War On Diabetes.  If you can do that, you will not only be happier, but you will learn how to win in different circumstances. What does that mean?

You will triumph.  I know you can.  I believe you will.

Just a reminder: Always, always, always take your meds as prescribed. Don’t miss a dose.  You will find that if meds are part of your control plan, taking them as prescribed aids in the control.  I know it seems obvious. but one of the easiest things to forget during this time of the year are your meds.  Bluntly, if they are prescribed for you – take them as directed.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control
One comment on “The Best Laid Plans – Managing Diabetes and Weight During the Holidays
  1. beetleypete says:

    Interesting stuff as always Phil. Hummus (as we spell it) has been popular here for decades. It is low in cholesterol, high in roughage, but unfortunately also has a high fat content. Recommendations here, are to eat no more than one half of one cup a day. Certainly a lot better than many other dips, that’s for sure.
    I was interested in the Gettysburg map. I have always wondered why Lee attacked there. One of the worst military decisions in history. He should have listened to Longstreet!
    Regards from England as always, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

