Diet, Exercise, Diabetes and Weight Loss

snoopy walking

Ever read, or heard that phrase?  Ever hear it in a commercial?  It’s usually followed by an advertisement for a medication of some sort, it seems. “When diet and exercise don’t control (insert condition/disease here), talk to your doctor about (Name of Drug goes here).” You know the sentence.  You’ve read it or heard hundreds of times.

“When diet and exercise…” Before being diagnosed with Diabetes, I never thought I could control anything through diet and exercise, or through any kind of a lifestyle change.  I thought the phrase was there to satisfy some sort of law or court decision. I mean, come on – make a few changes and I can control a disease?  Really?  Who are you kidding?

But, as I began to fight Diabetes, I listened to what my doctor was telling me.  “Change your eating habits, exercise just a bit, and lose a little weight.  Walk 30 minutes a day.  Just walk.  One foot in front of another.  That’s the best thing you can do to control Diabetes.” He went on to tell me about one of his patients who started doing just that and was able to stop taking all meds.  Of course, he told me it was very unusual for that to happen, but it could.

Snoopy_and_Woodstock_by_Methos84

I left the office thinking I could control the disease if I just made a couple of changes.  I had no goal of being taken off of meds; I was terrified of Diabetes and just wanted to control the disease.

If you are a regular reader, you know the story.  I started with an A1c of 13 (very high) and about 70 pounds over weight. Within a year I had lost 60 pounds and my A1c was under 6.5,  What did I do?  I discovered a lower carb diet worked for me.  I also discovered that walking 30 minutes a day was pretty easy to do.  I will let you in on a little secret: if my doctor had told me that I had to join a gym and go there a couple of hours a day, I probably would not have done it. I am just not sure that I could go to a gym daily; it would take way too much time from my life.  But, I could walk 30 minutes a day.

exercise good mood I ultimately discovered that diet and exercise are enough.  And, if you give it a chance, you will discover that a change in diet and a bit of exercise can change your world.  Bluntly, I love how walking makes me feel.

I also discovered that Diet and Exercise are two very effective weapons that every diabetic should be using in their War On Diabetes.  You can do it.  Your walk does not have to be fast; it just has to be. The speed of my walk increased because I wanted to make sure I was getting the most benefit from it, but I rarely exceed 30 minutes.

You can do it.  You can lose the weight.  You can lower your A1c.  You can win the War On Diabetes.

By the way, it took me a year and a half, but with a few tweaks to my diet and a bit faster walk (but not longer than 30 minutes), I lost the last 10 pounds and am keeping it off.

You can do it.  Start today.  Learn for yourself that Diet and Exercise are two of the three weapons you have to fight Diabetes. Look, if you are only depending on meds, you aren’t giving yourself a chance to win.  Why wouldn’t you use the other two weapons you have?  Why would you let them sit in the dirt, so to speak, when we are talking about your life?

I should have started the Diet and Exercise changes when I was told I had Prediabetes – I might not have graduated to Diabetes.

Pick up all of your weapons and use them – please.  I want the very best quality of life for you; you need to want it, too.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
2 comments on “Diet, Exercise, Diabetes and Weight Loss
  1. beetleypete says:

    Sound advice from a seasoned ‘campaigner’ Phil.
    Regards from England as always, Pete.

  2. Isn’t it a blessing to have a doctor who doesn’t just tell you “Lose weight” but who adds some details to their advice. The details may not necessarily work, but they are a start. And I most certainly agree that no Type 2 diabetes treatment is complete without diet and exercise.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

