Black Friday…The Day After

sunset

The Big Day is done.  There was a lot of food, wasn’t there?  How did you do?

Did you make a plan and follow it?

I know it can be hard.  There are just so many great things to sample and eat.  All,  and I mean all of your favorite foods were there from high carb stuffing to pies.  For some, it was just a bit too much to resist.  Heck, even for those experienced in waging War On Diabetes, it can be overwhelming.  And, you know exactly how you did when you checked your blood glucose.  Blood does not lie.

So, maybe it didn’t go as well as you wanted it to.  What are you going to do?  You may have stumbled a bit.  Hey, you might have fallen flat on your face.  The thing you have to remember is that you can get back up.  That’s right.  You can stand right back up and start your fight again.

Our fight to control Diabetes is not a one and done thing.  (Won and done, if you prefer.)  It’s a battle that we start again everyday.  Each day brings us the opportunity to win a battle.  Every once in a while we are going to lose.  Maybe a food takes us by surprise; we don’t see the carbs or the sugar until we check glucose.  Maybe we just get tired of the battle for one day and decide to have the foods we shouldn’t be eating.

Will you live?  Oh, probably.  Guilt?  Maybe…Probably. If you feel guilt, get over it by starting the fight to control Diabetes and/or weight.  Action will turn the guilt around for you.  Action will control Diabetes.  Action will take weight off. And, action will lead to success.

It’s a new day with a new battle.  A battle in your War On Diabetes.  You can win.  Stand up and start doing it, again. You know exactly what to do.  Diet, Exercise and Meds.  Don’t stop and don’t give in.  Not every battle will be won; but you have to get up after losses, to fight again.

How did I do?  I followed my battle plan. I prepared by taking a 2.5 mile walk in the late morning.  I ate lightly before leaving knowing it would be a couple of hours before dinner.  When I got to the location for Thanksgiving, I made sure I looked at the food being laid out and decided what I was going to have before I ever started to put food on a plate.  And, when I started to put food on my plate, I followed my plan. Yes, there were foods I did not get to have, but I ate – and ate well.  Heck, I even had a little dessert – the Diabetic brought the pies for dessert – go figure.

When I got home, which was about 2.5 hours from when I ate, I checked glucose – 106.  My plan worked for me.  Make a plan.  Follow it.  Make adjustments, if necessary.  And you can win. I know it.  I believe it.

We are going into a time of the year when there will be several opportunities for you to be successful.  If you did not do well at Thanksgiving, you will soon have another opportunity to win the battle. You can do it.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control, Exercise & Diet
3 comments on “Black Friday…The Day After
  1. beetleypete says:

    You did well Phil. Nothing like a plan that works!
    Regards from England as always, Pete.

  2. mjohnson9706 says:

    Stuck to the battle plan. Was a great day, filled with love and laughter. Food was more like the background music, well until my mom pulled out that coconut cake for my brother’s birthday. A lot of temptation with that, but I resisted. FBG this morning 92, I’m thinking your battle plan from the other day will work not just for Thanksgiving, but any time a “big food” event ensues, and plan on implementing it every chance I get.

  3. Thank you so much for the feed back. Your success made getting back up at midnight the right thing to do to write the post you saw.

    I have found little odds and ends that seem to work and am so very pleased that the same approach worked for you. As you mention, it’s ‘suitable for any occasion’ from Bar Mitzvahs to Birthdays to Thanksgiving to name-the-event.

    One of the huge advantages, for me, is that this does not cry out, “Diabetic.” You are able to enjoy the day and with just a bit of effort that is darn near invisible to others, Diabetes falls into the background.

    Again, I am so glad it worked well for you.

    Now, if I could only figure out a way for Christmas presents to wrap themselves…Oh, and the house decorate itself…and…well, there is at least one less thing to worry about, anyway.

    Thanks,
    Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

