Carbs and Cold Feet

Cold-Feet

Carbs and Cold Feet?  Is he kidding?  What in the world do carbs have to do with cold feet?  Stick with me and all will be revealed just like magic.

cold feet and socks

Before I was diagnosed with Diabetes, my feet were cold.  I especially felt it at night and started wearing socks to bed.  Okay, I know some of you wear socks to bed because of where you live.  But, come on – I live in Southern California.  Socks are not part of my sartorial splendor for bed – and yet they were.

I tried an extra blanket over my feet.  A robe over my feet.  Socks and a blanket were tried.  My feet were freezing!

And then the magic words, “You have Diabetes.”

My feet were still cold.  The diagnosis did not warm them in the least.  Now, I had new fears.  Cold feet.  Probably caused by bad circulation, which is a complication of Diabetes, by the way.  You can read about it here right under the heading, Poor Circulation.  Heck, I was already imagining that my feet were amputated as a side effect of Diabetes.  I’ve told you that I have a good imagination, and I was secretly very scared. If I had a brain, I would have fought Prediabetes and been rid of the cold feet years ago.

So, I begin to get my Diabetes under control.  I begin eating a lower carb diet.  I take my meds.  I start my walking – just walking – 30 minutes per day.  My glucose comes down.  My A1c comes down from 13.0 to 6.1, where it’s been for the last 2.5 years.  I’m working to really trying to control the disease.  Just a note – you don’t have to have an A1c of 6.1 to control Diabetes.  According the the ADA, an A1c of less than 7.0, qualifies as being under tight control.

warm feet

Now, a funny things happens.  My feet are no longer cold.  They’d been cold for years, now they aren’t.  It’s just that simple.  Fewer carbs and warmer feet.  Fighting the War On Diabetes equals warm feet. Now, I can easily get too warm under the blanket.

Are your feet cold?  Fight the War On Diabetes and you, too, may once again enjoy warm feet.  Sometimes it’s just the little things, like warmer feet, that can inspire us to fight harder.

You can win the War.  You can fight and control Diabetes – and have warm feet. Don’t take them for granted!

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control
One comment on “Carbs and Cold Feet
  1. beetleypete says:

    Julie was almost the same. Her feet were usually always hot. Just before diagnosis, she started to feel them getting cold during the evenings. Since treatment started to stabilise her condition, they are warm again. Good advice Phil.
    regards from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

