It’s Cold Outside…I’ve Been Told

Beautiful...but COLD!

Beautiful…but COLD!

It’s Winter like weather in some places.  The clocks have been turned back.  It gets dark earlier.  It’s cold in some places.  Heck, I know there are readers who live where there are gale force winds on a regular basis this time of the year.  Is it a conspiracy to make exercise difficult for those with Diabetes?

Are we just supposed to not exercise when night falls at 5:00? Or, at 4:30?

Well, to be honest for about three years I had a real hard time walking from late October to early January. I just did not want to get my rear out there when it was dark and walk my two miles.  I mean..it was really dark when I would finally get outside…like between 7:00 and 7:30.  I even told myself it was too late to start my walk if it got later than 7:45 for those months.

Sound familiar?  But, I was wrong.  Diabetes does not take a few months off and I shouldn’t either.  In order to control my glucose, I need to exercise/walk.  So, now, I just get my little self out and do it.  For me it’s easy because where I live the weather is never really that bad. What if you live in cold areas?  What if you live in Minnesota?

Well, if you live in a cold area, The Mayo Clinic, located in Minnesota of all places, has some great tips for Winter exercise.  You can incorporate skating, skiing, and cross country skiing into your exercise routines – or just about any other Winter activity that gets you outside.  Just be dressed for it and know the effect colder weather has on you

But, what if you don’t want to go outside – it is cold and dark out there, after all.  Then you can include basic leg lifts and push-ups (the real or the easy ones) in your routine.  You don’t need any special equipment and just about any open floor space will do.  Last year I did them just to see if they’d work for me, and they did!  I also started to use light weights – five pound dumb bells.  Or, maybe you know someone who isn’t using a home gym; how nice would that be?

Is your basement tall enough for skipping rope?  Or, maybe you are an avid table tennis player.  Any activity is better than none, so don’t let the colder weather stop your exercise…please

It’s cold.  It’s dark.  It’s Winter weather time.  But you still have a War to fight. You have Prediabetes to beat back or Diabetes to control – And, you can do it!

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
2 comments on “It’s Cold Outside…I’ve Been Told
  1. beetleypete says:

    Good tips for exercise indoors Phil. However, cold should not keep you in! I was out for over two hours today, and it was only 3 degrees (C). A good coat, boots and socks, hat and gloves, and I was as warm as toast. It’s just a matter of being prepared.
    In your case, that is probably flip-flops and a pair of shorts. I know, rub it in…
    Regards from England, Pete.

    • Pete,

      Shorts – yes. Flip-flops – yes. But, I do wear a long sleeved t-shirt sometimes. The truth is while I have been in pretty cold weather, 8 degrees (C) – it’s not something I would go out of my way to enjoy (or is it endure?). And, you are so right; if you are prepared for it, staying warm is not a big deal. And, trust me, I was as prepared as I could be to enjoy 8 degrees – appropriate coat, gloves, hat, etc.

      You did make me smile – thank you. Can you see the palm trees waving hello?

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

