Before and After – Food – Part 2 – Maintenance

I just could not find the right graphic.  Am leaving it up to your imagination.

I just could not find the right graphic. Am leaving it up to your imagination.

Is there is a Part 1, there should be a Part 2, right?  You read what I ate before my diagnosis and then after it to gain control of my glucose and lose weight.  So, what am I doing, now?

In a word: Maintenance – which can be the most difficult stage.  I need to keep my glucose under control and maintain weight loss. And, to do that while eating the same foods my family eats.

The good thing is that outside of a few potato chips and a couple of cookies a day, my family eats the same foods I do – and everyone is healthier as a result.  Funny how that works, huh? Everything I eat is available at your local grocery store, which makes it so much easier when meal planning and shopping!

Now, I no longer eat as much by the clock.  But it’s what helped me stick to the diet of less as I lost weight and gained control of my Diabetes; and, until recently was something I just did.  It made managing Diabetes easier for me.  It made losing weight easier.

So, what is my maintenance diet look like?measuring cups

  • Breakfast is pretty much the same: a portion of cereal, a small portion of fruit, and coffee.  I still have eggs once or twice a week; and sometimes have fresh berries with low carb yogurt and coffee.  I make sure I have a variety of foods so I don’t get tired of any one thing.  And, I always watch portion sizes.  In fact, since I know portion creep exists, I actually measure my portions every now and then to ensure I am getting the right portion sizes.
  • Lunch is also pretty much the same as I had been eating, except I sometimes have a six inch sandwich or half of a deli-type sandwich.  Half being the important word.  I might eat two or three tacos – hard shell tacos – for lunch. Iced tea is my drink of choice, but I sometimes have a diet soda.  Just to be clear, I don’t eat those foods at one meal – I have listed three different meals. Oj, yes, can’t forget the fresh, raw vegetables – just about as much as I want.
  • Dinner: I love a bit of meat, fresh vegetables and half a roll.  Broiled chicken is great with fresh vegetables.  Fish is delicious with, you guessed it, fresh vegetables.  I will include a half of a roll with almost any dinner.  My bevearge of choice is still iced tea.
  • For snacks, I still use the low carb/high protein bars most of the time.  I also might have one slice of bread with peanut butter.
  • The big change is that I actually eat fewer over-all carbs in a day than I did just after diagnoses.  Most of my meals are around 45 carbs, not the 50 to 55 I started with at the suggestion of a dietician. Remember, I control my Diabetes through diet and exercise; I no longer take any meds for it.  So, what I eat is very important.

I still walk 30 minutes five days a week and have introduced a bit of resistance training.

When I was diagnosed I had an A1c of 13.0.  My last four A1c tests have resulted in 6.1 with a 5.9 tossed in there.

My weight this morning?  186.1 pounds. So, something’s working considering I began at 255.

Please remember it’s my diet and regular exercise that make controlling Diabetes possible for me without meds.  You may, or may not be able to eat the same foods I do.  My goal in letting you know what I really eat was to provide a starting point. Your body is different and mileage may vary.

Whatever you do, you must start your fight; you must declare War On Diabetes if you want to control it.  The alternative to not controlling it?  To be blunt – complications – serious complications are pretty much guaranteed.

Diabetes-Complications

What complications? A lost toe, foot or leg are not uncommon.  25% of those on dialysis have Diabetes.  You don’t think Dialysis is a big deal?  Three times a week for six hours – gone from your life – and there are no alternatives.  You will organize your life around Dialysis and not see the ones you love when you want to – it will be around your Dialysis schedule.  Loss of eyesight and hearing are also part of the complications not to mention organ damage. And, there are more!  Plus, don’t forget that Diabetes is the 7th leading cause of death in the United States.

A bit scared?  Well, you should be.  Diabetes is a terrible disease if not controlled.  The good news is that with just a little exercise; a diet consisting of whole grains, fresh fruits, vegetables and protein; and, taking your meds as prescribed you can control the disease.  You can win your War On Diabetes.

So, why aren’t you controlling your Diabetes?  Is any food worth the price of the complications?  For me, the answer was, “NO!” What’s holding you back from taking control of Diabetes?  What’s holding you back from working to beat Prediabetes.  Take the time to talk with your doctor to find out what you need to do. Educate yourself.  And, fight.

You can win…I believe it.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
One comment on “Before and After – Food – Part 2 – Maintenance
  1. beetleypete says:

    Julie and I try hard to eat the same main meal. She has a smaller portion usually, and if I have a few biscuits (cookies) occasionally, she has something less harmful, such as an oatcake. It can be done Phil, you are always right about that.
    regards from England, Pete/

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

