DAM! What’s In A Name?

no diabetes

We are in the middle of Diabetes Awareness Month and I have to tell you something: I wish I didn’t have Diabetes.  Why do I have it?  Probably because I did not take Prediabetes seriously.  How can you take anything with “pre” in front of it seriously?  Now, if it had a different name like “Stage 1 Insulin Deficiency Syndrome” I probably would have given it the attention it needed and made the changes necessary so I would not go to Stage 2 – full blown Type 2 Diabetes.

Think about it.  If someone tells you that you have Stage 1 Cancer, you are all over it.  You are going to do anything you need to do so it does not become Stage 2.  A bit of a diet change?  No problem.  Lose a little weight?  Sign me up and get me my new wardrobe ’cause I am going to need it.  Tell me I need to exercise a little?  I’m there.

It’s Cancer. Not good.  Chemotherapy.  Radiation.  Surgery. Alternative therapies. And, I am told that by making a few changes I can either get rid of it or control it?  Well, Folks, that is a no-brainer.

Well, since you are smart readers you know where I am going with this.

Guess what? When we are told we have Prediabetes (aka Stage One Insulin Deficieny Syndrome), we are being told that if we don’t make a few changes, we will in all probability get Diabetes.

“But, Phil, it’s just Diabetes. Relax.”

Really?  ‘Just Diabetes’ has some serious complications running from losing extremities (toes and feet seem to be favorites) to hearing loss to loss of sight…if not controlled.  Sounds serious to me; does it to you?  Did I mention dialysis?  Twenty-five percent of those on dialysis are…drum roll…Diabetics.

“But, they have a pill for it.”

Oh, Lord do they have pills for it.  Lot’s of them.  And insulin.  Did you know that 30% of Type 2 Diabetics are on insulin?  A major drawback to insulin is that once you are on it; you are always on it – for the rest of your life.  That’s one of those little known facts folks don’t talk about.

So, if you are told you have Prediabetes (aka Stage One Insulin Deficiency Syndrome), fight it.  The proven, tried and true method is pretty simple.

Diet – a lower carb diet is what I have used top control Type 2 Diabetes, and should have used to fight Prediabetes. Talk with your doctor to find out what the right diet is for you.

Exercise – You don’t have to run out, join a gym and spend hours a day there.  Walk or do some other form of exercise for 30 minutes a day five or six days a week.

Weight – Lose a bit of weight.  If you are watching what you are eating and really following a  diet, and you are doing a bit of exercise, your weight will probably take care of itself.  Heck, by doing just what I have described, I have lost 70 pounds.

And, that’s it.  There are no magic pills, potions, or words to say to beat Prediabetes.  You fight it by declaring War on it. The best that can happen is that you reverse the Prediabetes and fight it back.  The worst that happens is that you can postpone the onset of Diabetes and are in a great place to control the disease.

I don’t see a downside there.

So, get an A1c test and talk with your doctor about the results.  An A1c test looks at blood sugar levels for the last 60 to 90 days and is incredibly simple.  A bit of blood is taken, analyzed and in short order you get results.  If you are in the normal range, great.  If you are in the Prediabetes range, takl with your doctor and make a plan to fight it.

You can beat back Prediabetes.  Declare your War On Diabetes.  By getting an A1c test you will know what, if anything, you need to do so you will not get Diabetes.  You really, really do not want to hear that diagnoses if you can avoid it/

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Prediabetes
5 comments on “DAM! What’s In A Name?
  1. Sugar Free Mountain Biking says:

    I agree, just trying to talk to a work colleague at the moment who is starting out with an early diagnosis and is so far doing nothing as he can have a tablet.

    Even though he knows the eye complications and other problems I’ve had he doesn’t want to get fit and lose weight.

    My own symptoms were barely visible. Tired on an evening, slight aches and pains but that’s about it – all the kind of thing that creeps up un-noticed. I suspect if I’d had a A1C as part of a general health check I’d have spotted it sooner.

    Too late to worry now for me, I just have manage what I’ve got and try and encourage those that find out to do something too. Including early screening if you think you’re healthy.

    • Thank you for reading and taking the time to leave a comment. I truly appreciate it/

      You are so right about early screenings; getting A1c tests done on a regular basis – and taking the results seriously can have long-term effects. I just wish I did not have to get Diabetes to be as healthy as I am right now.

      So, the big question is: How do we get folks to take Prediabetes seriously? Any ideas welcome!

      Again, thank you.
      Phil

      • Sugar Free Mountain Biking says:

        Simple answer is that I don’t really know.

        The colleague at work has only said this morning that he’s not worried as it’s not that bad, He’s only just turned 40 and seems completely oblivious to the fact that if he doesn’t do something now, then in 10 or 20 years it will be too late.

        My Nurse and GP were very clear about the problems and the need to do something. so all the info is there from health care professionals in the UK.

        You mentioned cancer and it just struck me writing this, yes people are all over cancer once they develop it, but how many people will take the steps necessary to minimise the risk before they develop it?

        Many of those measures are similar to those needed to prevent diabetes.

        In a way if you’ve developed cancer, you’re at a similar stage to a diabetic with serious complications. It’s got to a stage where there’s no avoiding it and you have no option but to be all over it.

        I suspect it comes down to how do you encourage people to be healthy in general, rather than isolating one condition over another, Education in schools on healthy lifestyles has to be one of the best starts.

  2. beetleypete says:

    You make a good point Phil. It isn’t treated as seriously as many other illnesses, and seen as something controllable by medication. We all know that this is just part of the story, and much more needs to be done by the patient, to avoid all the additional complications later.
    Regards from England. Pete.

    • Pete,

      Any ideas on how we can get folks to take a diagnoses of Prediabetes more seriously are welcome. There is a huge cost associated with Diabetes in the United States, but more important than that, there is a loss of quality of life for so many because they don’t do anything except take that pill and think they have Diabetes under control.

      I better stop because I might get on a bit of a rant. I am just incredibly concerned about how folks deal with any diagnoses that has ‘diabetes’ in it.

      As always, thank you so very much. Give my best to your wife.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

