Happy Halloween! Or, It’s Just a LITTLE Candy

See anything you like?

See anything you like?

You know, I was going to completely ignore Halloween on this blog.  Wasn’t even going to mention it.  Not a single word. But, there I was out on a little walk tonight and I saw so many houses with decorations up.  And, then I thought that I wold not be walking tomorrow night – lots of other walkers on the streets!

And, then I realized I didn’t have any candy to give out.  Oh, no!  Which then made a trip to the store necessary to get said candy.  And, you know while at the store I saw a lot of candy I used to enjoy – past tense.  Now, I just don’t miss it; it does not hold an attraction for me.  Several bags of candy – good candy – in the house and they have not been opened.

What is wrong with me?  Yeah, yeah, yeah…Diabetes.  The truth is my desire to control Diabetes is much stronger than any desire for a Baby Ruth candy bar, or a Reese’s Cup, or a Snickers, or a Milky Way….I’m going to stop now.  I bet you can’t guess what my favorite candies are, can you?

Anyway, you could be surrounded by candy tomorrow, during the days that follow…heck, for the next two months!  It’s important for you to know just what those little pieces of candy contain.  To that end, I present the following:

Candy Matrix

Not a bad presentation, huh?  Nice little quick reference guide for those who learn better from graphics.  So easy to tell the ‘sorta not good for me’ from the ‘truly not good for me.’  They have named names and even shown pictures.

And I know there are those of you who like to know more about calorie counts and like a nice chart.  So, this is for you:

 

If you are one who likes to read articles, this one is packed with information.

So, you have made the decision to have a little candy.  Okay.  What exercise will you need to do to burn it off?  Here’s one guide… and here’s simple, kind of cute chart.  But, don’t let the simplicity of the chart fool you – it’s serious information.

The truth is you are probably going to indulge in a bit of candy.  Be smart about it. You are fighting Diabetes, and it does not take a day off for Halloween.  Remember that dark chocolate is probably the best of your alternatives since it has less sugar in it.

Continue to wage your War On Diabetes – even on Halloween.  You do have a choice; you can say no to candy.  If you do have some, remember it will hit your blood sugar fast.  Exercise a bit more so your body can absorb it, please.

As always, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
2 comments on “Happy Halloween! Or, It’s Just a LITTLE Candy
  1. beetleypete says:

    Great graphics Phil, and a timely warning too. Halloween parades and trick or treating were unknown in the England of my youth, but are now very popular; an ‘unfortunate’ modern import from the USA, driven by supermarkets, and marketing men.
    Without getting overly political about it, we don’t ‘do’ Halloween in our house, as we feel that most kids are already approaching obesity or bad teeth already, without our help. Your guide just confirms what we already suspected.
    Regards from England as always, Pete.

  2. mjohnson9706 says:

    While we decorated and will be in costume to night to hand out “treats”, there is no candy in our home and the “treats” are bat rings, spider rings, and fangs. Not because I’m scared that I might turn into the “candy monster”, but more because of all the reading I’ve done in my own war on my diabetes, I can not with clear conscious pass out sugary candy to the masses, at the same time, I can not with clear conscious pass out “artificially” sweetened candy either.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

