Back To The Future

Back to the future

One of the biggest battles I, we, face is losing weight and then keeping it off.  I thought I had it wired.  Did you notice the past tense of that sentence?  Yeah…thought.  Don’t you just hate it when you have to re-learn lessons you thought you understood?

As you know I trained for and participated in a 10K.  That was great, even though I am a bit sore here and there.  But, you know what I did during the training?  I started eating a bit more figuring I was working it off.

Have you ever fallen into that trap?  It’s an easy one to get caught in.  I thought I would burn off more calories, so I allowed myself to eat a bit more.  WRONG thought.  My diet and exercise are in a certain balance…and I was not walking that much more than normal, so eating a bit more was not a great idea.

So, here I am just after the event and I weighed myself.  I managed to gain a little weight, even though my glucose readings were all in the normal range – 82 to 98. I foolishly thought my weight was okay.  Then I stepped on a scale this morning. Truth time.  Up a few pounds.

A few pounds doesn’t sound like a lot, does it?  All of us gain a few pounds during the course of the day.  But, when you are starting the day a bit higher it’s not a good thing.  I figure that a few pounds can easily lead to a few more pounds, etc., etc.  So, it makes sense for me to nip it in the bud.  Look, it’s a lot easier to lose three or four pounds than it is to lose 10 or 20, right?

I put it on so easily.  Kind of like peanut butter on bread…it just spreads right on!  It just doesn’t come off that easily – at least for me.

So, what I am going to do?  First, back to what I should be eating; back to my diet.  It’s really Back To The Future  for me because my future lies in following my diet.  That’s been reinforced this last couple of weeks.  My diet?  Meals of about 50 carbs and snacks of about 15 carbs.

I will change my exercise routine a bit and use more resistance training since it’s getting dark earlier.

You see, it’s all about controlling my Diabetes and winning my War.  Going back to the diet I know works and a slight change in exercise should do the trick.

What do I have to lose?  Just about five pounds.  Doesn’t sound like much, does it.  But, I found it was easier to lose the first fifty or sixty pounds than the last ten.  I know what I need to do…just have to do it.

What do you have to do to lose a bit of weight?  What do you have to do to control Diabetes?  For me, it’s Back To The Future!

As always, thank you for reading.

 

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
4 comments on “Back To The Future
  1. beetleypete says:

    As we get older, whether diabetic or not, it does seemingly become harder to lose weight. Like you, I lost a lot of weight easily at first, just by walking a lot when I retired. However, those few stubborn pounds that remain, do not want to leave me, just yet. Darker days, cold and worsening weather, all make it harder to get enthused about exercise. We just have to wrap up, grit those teeth, and get on with it!
    Regards from England as always, Pete,

    • Pete,

      As I recall you wrote about ‘gale force winds’ in a comment a comment a few weeks ago. Okay, I would never walk in that kind of wind. Living in Southern California I think I am being pretty brave to walk in a mild drizzle. (Cue the laughter.) So, I have no clue what ‘worsening weather’ could possibly mean.

      Am very pleased I live where I do! But, then I think we all have that reaction to home – at least I hope so.

      Thank you for being an engaged member of the War.

      Phil

  2. Just out of curiosity, have you measured your waist, thighs, calves, arms and other parts of your body with a tape measure? When I get on the scale (not everyday, mind you), I also measure different parts of my body to see whether I really have gained or lost weight.

    • Jane,

      First, thank you for such a simple question. The truth is that I have never taken out a tape measure, but the idea is a good one. I never thought of it, actually.

      You see, I don’t believe the actual weight the scale shows, although it does agree with my doctor’s scale to within a few ounces. I do trust it to indicate if I am gaining or losing, though. Bigger number is not good; lower number better. Very basic thought pattern.

      But, I will take out the tape measure and take some measurements soon – and, yes, I will record them. Then, when I see a sustained weight change, I will re-measure. It’s a great way to really see what’s going on.

      Thanks for the idea.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

