Yep, I’m a Diabetic

I am diabetic

Like I need to be reminded I’m a Diabetic.  Actually, I understand the ‘approved’ way to refer to me, or us, is as a “person(s) with Diabetes” or PWD for short.  Nah, I’m a Diabetic, and it was once again, recently confirmed.

As you may know, I eat according to a schedule.  I have ever since I was diagnosed and have been very successful at keeping kind of close to that schedule.  It’s one of the tools I use to keep my glucose in control.  Except for one day last week-  I was a bad boy and did not eat when I was supposed to eat.

You see, work was busy and we were a bit short-handed, so my lunch was delayed three hours.  Three hours!  By the time I got to lunch, it was time for my afternoon snack.  This was not good.  I had a few of the symptoms of lowered blood sugar. Yes, I ate a snack.  But, I truly needed to eat lunch.  Which I was finally able to do.

Lesson: always have snacks nearby.  For me that includes two kinds of granola bars and some hard candies.

If you are wondering what you need to keep near you, or have available, this is from the American Diabetes Association:

Treatment

  1. Consume 15-20 grams of glucose or simple carbohydrates
  2. Recheck your blood glucose after 15 minutes
  3. If hypoglycemia continues, repeat.
  4. Once blood glucose returns to normal, eat a small snack if your next planned meal or snack is more than an hour or two away.

15 grams of simple carbohydrates commonly used:

  • glucose tablets (follow package instructions)
  • gel tube (follow package instructions)
  • 2 tablespoons of raisins
  • 4 ounces (1/2 cup) of juice or regular soda (not diet)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar, honey, or corn syrup
  • 8 ounces of nonfat or 1% milk
  • hard candies, jellybeans, or gumdrops (see package to determine how many to consume)

Another article can be found here about low blood sugar and Diabetes.

Additional Lesson for You  – if you don’t have snacks or hard candies nearby, get them.  Have some with you all of the time. In fact, if you need to get a few things to take to work or keep in the car, go ahead and do it right now.  I will wait…

Got them?  Good.

Okay, now you know my little secret from last week.  Our pharmacist, Katherine, now knows and I am am sure I will be hearing from her soon, thank you very much.

Learn from me and always have snacks close by ‘just in case.’  Controlling Diabetes means not letting your glucose get to high…or too low.

Keep fighting your War On Diabetes.  You can, and will win if you are persistent.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control, Uncategorized
One comment on “Yep, I’m a Diabetic
  1. beetleypete says:

    Good advice about low blood sugar. Julie is still so worried about it being too high, that she never considers what to do if it drops too low. Your contingency plan makes sense Phil, but then don’t you always?
    Regards from England. Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

