What Was I Thinking – Part 4

Ohh Noooo

Just to do something with my son…that’s how I got into this.  An abundance of exuberance…that and not quite knowing how far 10K really was when I said yes.

And, I am really not doing it with him.  He’s running 10 miles and I am walking 10K. But, still we are kind of doing it all together.  Talking about miles as if they were nothing.  Who am I fooling?  A mile is 5,280 feet.

Anyway, I walked close to 5.5 miles yesterday – Saturday.  Not bad.  Completed it in one hour and ten minutes.  So, I know I can do the 10K.  How long will it take me?  I don’t know for sure, but will let you all know next week.

A funny thing has happened along the way.  I began to get a little dizzy and did not understand why.  Being human I am thinking brain tumor right away.  What else could it be?  I wasn’t doing anything unusual – except making sure I could complete a 10K and not embarrass my son, or myself.

And, there it was.  i was walking more…my blood pressure was going down as a result.  My doctor had put me back on blood pressure meds about two months ago and the last time I went saw him my BP was 120/78.  He considered reducing the meds, but knew work was stressful. so he didn’t.  You know what?  I reduced the meds by half and the dizzy spells went away.

No brain tumor.  Work is still there, but the effect of the stress has been reduced through…wait for it…exercise.

So, a side effect of the walking is reduced medication, which is great.  I will tell you that my glucose readings are also lower; low enough so I have to be vigilant about eating to insure they don’t go too low.  Good lord, I’m a diabetic, not on any Diabetes meds and I am worried about low blood sugar.  I might even have to eat a little more!  I will let you know about that, for sure.

Just a reminder: When diagnosed my A1c was 13.0.  The first glucose reading I ever took was over 300.  Not many start too much higher.  My point here is that if I can bring it all down, you can, too.  If you are recently diagnosed, there is a light; there is hope.  And if you have been diagnosed and aren’t doing much to control the disease – start.  Know that you can control the disease.  You can fight and win your War On Diabetes.

What does it take?  Use your weapons: Diet, Exercise and Meds.  Use them to fight and win.  You can do it.

My upcoming 10K is not about any kind of a race; it’s the fact that I can do it.  When I started walking, I could only do about 1/2 mile in 30 minutes.  A little time later and I am going to be walking in a 10K!  That’s kind of amazing to me.  All so I could do something with my son.

What motivates you?  Children? Grand-children? Spouse? Health? Living without the complications Diabetes can bring? Find your motivation and make it work…fight and win the War.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
2 comments on “What Was I Thinking – Part 4
  1. beetleypete says:

    When I retired, I had reasonably high blood pressure, but wasn’t on medication. After less than six months, it was back to ‘normal’, simply as a result of walking 2-3 hours a day with my dog. These things are possible Phil, as you rightly say. Good luck with the walk.
    Regards from England, Pete.

  2. Pete,

    Thank you. I guess dogs are really good for what ails you, huh? Recently our son moved back home as he starts his PhD. With him came Rooney, a 65 pound wonderful dog; your basic American mutt…a Lab/Something mix. Well trained and loving. Good thing, too, because he has incredibly healthy teeth (Rooney) and strong jaws (again, Rooney).

    In fact, just about everyone loves having Rooney around – except our cats, which causes a bit of an adventure.

    Take care,
    Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

