Crappy Food

drew carey

I know I usually go with a smaller image, but I wanted to make sure you could see the difference the loss of 80 pounds makes.  HUGE!  You can read a bit about his weight loss and find out that Mr. Carey is a T2 Diabetic.  He’s one of us!

So, what got me to thinking about Drew Carey?  It was a question from Jenny, the woman who works next to me.  Blame it on her.  Her question:

“The holidays are coming.  Do you make plans to have good food?”

“Good food?”  I did not what to assume what she was referring to, although I had an idea.

“Pies. Cheesecake. Cookies. Candy.  Even garlic bread.”  I had told her that I made a decision to have garlic bread one night when eating out and regretted it.

“I think you and I have different ideas about what good food is.  Drew Carey even has a quote about it.”

“Eating crappy food is not a reward – it’s a punishment.”

I then took a post-it, folded it in half, and told her, “If I have any, it will be no more than this amount.  Just about what fills two teaspoons.  I just don’t seem to want it very much.”

Think about it for a minute.  So many of us lose weight as we work to control our Diabetes.  Each pound is sometimes a hard fought battle.  And, more than that, think about what some of that “good food” would do to glucose levels.  Does the term ‘sky high’ mean anything to you?

So, will I have a bite of this or that?  Probably, to tell the truth.  But, no more than a bite.  I have found the longing and desire for sweets just is not there, sometime during the second month I felt as though I was no longer depriving myself of something when I did not eat them; I just didn’t want them any longer.

You see, I changed my diet to gain control of Diabetes and get healthy.  I didn’t feel as though I was being punished – which is how some folks feel when they are on a temporary diet.  They feel as though they are missing so much ‘good stuff.’  For me, better health, lower glucose numbers and lost weight were a huge reward.  As I worked toward where I needed to be, I just stopped wanting anything that would get in the way of achieving my goal.

It sounds so simple, doesn’t it?  It’s all about making a choice and keeping to it.  It gets easier and easier each day to achieve the goal…each step closer is a reward all by itself.  And, as you fight to control Diabetes, or if you are fighting Prediabetes, those rewards are the ones to celebrate.  The ones that lead to a better you.

You can win the War On Diabetes.  Yeah, it will take a bit of work, but you will find there is no better feeling than gaining control over a disease.  Each pound lost.  Each cookie not eaten will bring you closer and closer.  It does work.  I lost 70 pounds and gained control.

You can do this.  You can, and will win the War, if you resolve to do so.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
2 comments on “Crappy Food
  1. beetleypete says:

    Hi Phil, the advice on the small portions is good. Julie is finding that having to eat more regular meals is leaving her feeling bloated, and putting her off eating altogether. She is managing this by having smaller portions at each meal, and trying to get a better balance throughout the day.
    Regards from England. Pete.

    • Pete,

      Thank you for your comments…I truly appreciate them. I eat six times a day. Three meals and three snacks. Total carb intake is between 185 and 205 depending on the day. I must have been eating an easy 750 to 1,000 carbs daily when diagnosed.

      Smaller, more frequent eating has made it easier for me to lose weight and to control my Diabetes.

      Wishing you and Julie the very best.

      Thanks,
      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

