Emergency Plastic

fake_plastic_food

Doesn’t that look yummy!

Early Saturday morning  – very early – I had to take someone to the hospital emergency room.  I feel truly fortunate there wasn’t a long wait for that person to be seen.  But, the treatment took several hours, and I got hungry.  When I eat is as important as what I eat since I control my Diabetes through diet and exercise.  As in a lot of things, timing is everything – within reason.

So, I went to a local fast food place – the big world-wide brand fast food place.  I have not been in one of those places for breakfast in a long time, so I thought it would be okay…that I would get what I needed.

Somewhere during the past several years, I must have become used to eating REAL FOOD.  You know the kind: whole grains, fresh fruit, raw vegetables, etc.  Food, right?  My body does much better with real food.  It has taste, texture and…wait for it – nutrition.  A trifecta of good stuff.

So, there I was ordering what I thought would be okay.  I got the stuff (I really can’t call it food) and took my first bite.  It tasted like plastic.  Felt like plastic in my mouth.  Had absolutely zero taste.  A truly bad trifecta.  And one that I am not goring to repeat.

A little aside here: I have read articles in which people write about the taste of fast food and that it can’t be compared to real food – that food which is not fast food.  You know what?  I used to just ignore their sentiment.  Heck, I liked fast food and they just wanted to get me to eat whatever food they were pushing or get some kind of supplement.

Folks, you know I am not here to sell you anything except to fight Diabetes.  If I have a product, that’s it.  No magical potions or supplements to sell here.

Meanwhile back at my breakfast….it was terrible and it was all I could do to get it down.  I needed something to eat and something is better than nothing, right?  But, if I had just taken a moment and looked around, I would have seen a grocery store full of fresh fruit, yogurt and maybe a bit of a roll.  Even being hungry, I have to learn, or re-learn, that I have to be creative once in awhile to get the kind of food I really need and not settle for fake food…which is what I really ate.  For about half the price of what I paid for that breakfast…HALF the price, I could have gone in the grocery store and come out with a veritable feast.

Sometimes we are going to be caught like I did – hungry and not able to find the kind of food we are used to eating.  Take a moment to consider all of your options before settling for the plastic food.  We fight our battle with Diabetes one meal at a time; one choice at a time.

Make a few smart choices and You will win your War On Diabetes!

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
One comment on “Emergency Plastic
  1. beetleypete says:

    That toy food in your photo looks uncannily like the stuff actually served up in those fast food chains Phil.
    Good advice as always, let’s hope they take it!
    Regards from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

