What Was I Thinking – Part 3

Ohh Noooo

 

If it’s Mr. Bill…it must be a training update.

Today was a five mile walk.  Last week was 4.4 miles.  Remember, a 10K is 6.2 miles, so at 5 miles I’m getting closer to the actual distance.  I walked on a course that I know. In fact, I used my usual walking route, added a block, walked it twice and lo and behold – five miles.  The time?  Well, much better than last week.  In fact it was so much better that I had to stop and figure out why.

You see, the five miles took me 61 minutes.  Or, 12.12 minutes per mile.  Closer to what I expected last week, but did not achieve. Last week I did about 18 minute miles.  Why?  Well, I discovered there were two reasons.  One, I got stopped at eight (8) signals waiting for a green light.  I did not stop the clock/timer as I waited for the light to change  And, two, I was walking in a lot of traffic, so I was very cautious of cars, which also slowed me down. Basic rule: Car versus human – car ALWAYS wins.

I also walked on dirt and rocks, sidewalks and in the street; I think the multiple surfaces slowed me down a little.  And, I have to admit that I was a bit more focused on the walk today since I was not as concerned about traffic.  Therein lies a life lesson: Pay attention to what you are doing; concentrate at the task at hand.  (While very tempted, I will not refer to your fight in the War On Diabetes.  Really.  I won’t.)

So, what’s reality?  I’d love to believe that 12 minute miles are the reality, but am thinking it’s closer to 13 minutes, or so. But, for now, I will gladly accept the 12 minute mile.  Next week I will try a slightly different route.  I am no longer worried about being able to finish the 10K – baring any accident or injury; now it’s about the time.

I am still in wonder that I am doing this.  Over the years I have had ample opportunities to run or walk in a number of events.  Why this one?  Well, besides my son Ryan asking me to, I am in the best physical condition of the last 25 years – and it’s all due to taking my fight to control Diabetes seriously.  I’ve said it before, but when I started walking when first diagnosed, I got in about .5 (1/2) of a mile the first time and it took about 30 minutes.  Not very far.  But it’s a few years later and it’s a new and improved me.  I just wish it didn’t take getting Diabetes to get me off of my  rear.

Please learn from my mistake; if you have been told you have Prediabetes, fight it.  Do what you need to do: change your diet and exercise a bit (30 minutes a day).  You can be successful.  At the very least, you can postpone the onset of full-blown Diabetes.  You can do it.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
2 comments on “What Was I Thinking – Part 3
  1. beetleypete says:

    I think that you will do it OK Phil. I can do regular miles of 11-14 minutes , with a brisk pace. Be confident, and all will be revealed! Regards from England, as always, Pete

  2. Way to go Phil..I will be cheering for you even if it’s on the other side of the world, I have the Diabetic walk this coming sunday and I am so looking forward to it.. I have been back in training for the last week or so as I let my exercise slip over winter.. I know a bad girl I am! Now the weather has picked up this girl is back pounding the pavement.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

