What Was I Thinking? – Part 2

Ohh Noooo

Okay, as you know I am walking in a 10K at the end of October.  For those of us who are metrically challenged – like me – 10K is 6.2 miles.  Just so you see it again – it’s 6.2 miles.  Something I kind of have to work up to, don’t you think?  Six point two miles is not something that you just decide to just go out and do – well, I don’t anyway.

So, being a little smart about it, and after consulting with a couple of runners and looking on the internet, everyone seemed to agree that I have to sneak up on 6.2 miles.  In plain English, I have to plan, work and train toward the goal. Sound kind of familiar?  Hint – kind like fighting a War On Diabetes. OH, did I just give that away?

Work? More work?  Really?  Why am I doing this, again?  Oh, yeah, my son Ryan.

You know, he’d love me even if I didn’t get my rear out there.  I’m just sayin’.

During this past week I have walked my basic 2.2 miles and did one; count ’em – one 3 mile walk. I knew I was going to do a 4.0 mile walk over this past weekend.  How bad can an extra 1.4 or 1.5 miles be?

Just for a moment of perspective.  My first walk after diagnoses was .7 miles in 30 minutes.  Once around the tract.  I wasn’t fast.  Didn’t have the best shoes.  But, I got my rear out there and did it.  30 minutes.  I didn’t start out wanting to walk in a 10K; I blame that on Ryan.  I just wanted to control my Diabetes and knew some sort of exercise or activity was important. I didn’t know why it was important; just that I had to do it.  You can start out slow – controlling Diabetes is not a race; it’s putting one foot in front of the other.

Well, that bit extra was 50% more than I normally do at my longest regular walk.  50% is kind of substantial.  But, I did it.  4.4 miles in 80 minutes.  Not real fast, but not real slow either.  I got out and did it this afternoon and burned over 500 calories for those of you who count such things.

While I was walking, Ryan, who started started 30 minutes after I did, ran the same distance.  He passed me coming and going.  I was proud to see him doing it; proud to see him running knowing that he won’t be facing Diabetes if he keeps up his level of activity.

Anyway, I got it done and learned that during the middle part of the walk – the middle two miles, I slowed down just a bit. It was during a time when I was just putting one foot in front of another at about 117 to 120 paces a minute.  My normal two-mile pace is near 128 to 130 paces a minute,

You folks are smart.  You know the analogies to draw, right?  When you are fighting Diabetes it’s easy to start fast, but then it just becomes kind of a grind.  Progress is a bit slower.  You are doing all of the right things – Diet, Exercise and Meds.  You are headed in the right direction putting one foot in front of the other fighting each day for a bit of progress.  It’s also the same if you have Prediabetes.  You just keep fighting a bit each day to win the War.  A little progress each day and you will Win…it just can’t be helped.

Want to know the best part of the whole walk?  It wasn’t finishing it – which I did.  It was when Ryan met me with water about 1/4 mile from home.  Like a mirage in the desert, he turned a corner carrying a much needed bottle of water and greeted me with a smile.

Or was he just showing off at how much energy he had left after running 4.4 miles.  Nah, he met me because I needed the water and he knew it.

Next weekend…five miles.

I’m having way too much fun – can you tell?  Now, where is that Tylenol?

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
2 comments on “What Was I Thinking? – Part 2
  1. Sugar Free Mountain Biking says:

    Keep at it – every bit of activity is a win.

    I’m lucky as I love being out and active . It’s been tough with a broken carbohydrate system but as you say one step (or one pedal in my case) at a time.

  2. beetleypete says:

    Excellent progress Phil, and a good comparison with how to fight disease. Well done to you, and regards from England as always. Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

