It’s Family!

One of my favorite scenes from one of my all time favorite movies - It's A Wonderful Life

One of my favorite scenes from one of my all time favorite movies – It’s A Wonderful Life

Family.  Where would we be without them?  For so many folks family defines who they are and where they ‘fit.’  It’s where so many are loved for who they are, or in spite of it.  A family just loves.  And, a family can be many different things from relatives to a group of close friends to…well, any kind of group in which we are accepted.

So, why am I bringing up family?  There has to be a reason, right?

I was talking with Augie yesterday.  Augie works in a shop that repairs small machinery.  Over the last few months I have gotten to know him a bit; enough to be able to ask about his health and I know that he comes from a very close knit family.  He was speaking about his family the other day; telling me about some of the folks.  But, what he was really telling me is there is a great deal of love in the family.  One of the topics that brought a light to his eyes were his future grandchildren – he just can’t wait to see them.

I asked him if I could write a bit about him and his family in this blog.  I explained to him that I wrote about Diabetes; that it must be controlled and not be ignored.  Without any hesitation he agreed…

“Diabetes, huh?  That can be really bad.  My brother was very happy living on Catalina (a small island off the coast of Southern California), but he had to come back because our Grandmother became blind from Diabetes.  She can no longer cook – and she loved to cook for everyone.  Now by brother cares for her.

“My Uncle died from Diabetes.  And, my Aunt’s stepfather died from it.  Diabetes is bad news.  but,  I get tested every year and so far, no Diabetes.”

Wow.  I had no idea.  No idea.  Looking at him, I would have never guessed Augie had been touched so many times so dramatically by the disease.

You know, when we look at the statistics, they are just that – numbers that don’t really mean anything to us personally. But, my little chat with Augie made them all very real.  The complications that Diabetes can bring became very real. The death brought by Diabetes became very real.

Do you want to see your children or grandchildren?  Do you want to become part of the statistics of Diabetes?  If you do, don’t worry about it and don’t do anything to find out if you are at risk or have the disease; don’t fight and control the disease – and you are guaranteed to go down as a Diabetes statistic.

I’m not trying to scare you.  I’m just giving you the facts, paraphrasing Sgt. Joe Friday from the old TV show Dragnet.

There are some steps you can take.  First, get tested.  The A1c test is a simple test where they take a little blood.  If it hasn’t been done in the last year, or two, ask your doctor to order it.

If you are told you are at risk or have Prediabetes, fight back.  Declare war and don’t get Diabetes. Through diet and exercise you can win the battle and lower your A1c to normal levels. The worst that happens is that you postpone the onset of full-blown Diabetes, which is n’t too bad when you realize that you are working to control a disease.

If you have Diabetes declare War; if you really want to control it, there’s good news.  You have weapons with which to fight the war,  Diet. Exercise. Meds.  Using those three weapons is very effective.

Yes, as you change your diet, you might be a little hungry, but if you are following your doctor’s or dietician’s advice, you will be just fine; you will be getting enough food. And, yes, you might crave some junk foods in the beginning, but those desires will lessen over just a bit of time as your body discovers what real food is.

And, yes, starting an exercise program, or just being active for 30 minutes each day might be a real pain – especially if you have been inactive.  But, stick with it. Decide you are going to exercise and do it.  Within a short period of time you will be wondering why you weren’t active sooner.

And, take your Meds as prescribed.

Win Your War On Diabetes for your family.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control
2 comments on “It’s Family!
  1. beetleypete says:

    Diabetes and family is a good connection Phil. Julie’s dad had it, her older sister and niece both have it, and now she has been diagnosed, her four children have become aware and interested at long last! They might be inspired to watch their own lifestyles more closely in future.
    Regards from England. Pete.

  2. Love this post Phil!.. My family have been my rock (especially my son) since I was diagnosed.. The day I was diagnoses it had a very profound affect on me as you have read in my own blog.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

