What Was I Thinking?

Ohh Noooo

Last weekend I had to get new walking shoes.  I use running shoes which are incredibly comfortable and really easy to walk in.  I had worn my first pair out and needed to get some new ones.

I’m going to stop right here for a moment and remind you that you don’t need special shoes for walking as you begin.  I started in an old pair of Reeboks that were well worn out two years before I started walking.  I used those shoes for almost two years and lost 50 pounds.  Use the shoes you have in your closet – just get out there and be active.

So, my adult son, Ryan, goes with me to get the shoes.  After we leave the store – and after we go into a toy store (which I just love) – we are driving down the street.  Ryan is looking at a magazine that lists running events and he notices there’s a 10K even coming up at the end of October in a local city.  He starts talking about entering.  Makes sense because he’s a runner and has done some half-marathons.  You won’t catch me doing any half-marathons!

He’s reading on and mentions there’s also a 5K walk.  Now, I’m thinking, “5K – no problem.  I already walk 5K a couple of times a week.”

But, he says he’s going to enter the 10K as a runner.  He knows there is no chance that I would ever run in any kind of K. Then, he tells me there’s also a 10K walk in the same event – and I feel him looking at me as I drive.

Knowing where this might head if I wasn’t very careful, I point out a University we were passing and asked if he had applied there for his PhD.  I know – good strategy to change the topic, right?  Without looking over, he tells me no – which I already knew.

“10K walk, huh?”  Giving into the inevitable.

“Yeah, Dad.  Wouldn’t it be great to do it together?”

“But, you’d be running.  I’d be walking.”  A little emphasis on ‘walking.’

“Yeah, but we could do it together.  It’ll be great.”

You have to understand that Ryan has just come back to living close to get his PhD after a decade of living very far away.  I want to spend time with him.  He seems to want to spend time with me.  But, it’s 10K!  6.2 miles which is two miles farther than I have walked before.

“It’s only two miles more; and double what I do during the week.”  Oh, no…I was beginning to cave.

“Dad, you can Google a training schedule.  It’s good to stretch yourself.”  Easy for a 32 year-old to say.

After a moment of silence…

“Okay.  If you enter for running the 10K, I’ll walk a 10K.”

What was I thinking?  Clearly my emotion at having Ryan around was overcoming my common sense.  Now, I was committed to walking 6.2 miles – and not at some leisurely pace; at my normal exercise pace.  I repeat: 6.2 miles.  What was I thinking?

So, now I am putting together a training plan to get myself ready.  I don’t have a lot of time and I am not trying to race; just finish with an okay time.  The next one…what am I saying?…I will plan for better.

Ryan thinks I can do it.  What Father is going to let his son down, right?

All of this because I got Diabetes and decided to walk a little.  It seemed so easy at the time.  Darn Diabetes!

Now, I don’t expect anyone who walks to get out and do a 5K or a 10K.  I just hope you get out and move a bit everyday at some activity you enjoy.  Exercise is one of your weapons to wage War On Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading…and, think of me, please.  A slight panic is beginning to settle in.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
7 comments on “What Was I Thinking?
  1. beetleypete says:

    10K can be a long way -one way- but five there, five back should be achievable for most of us Phil. I do about three to four miles a day. I am not sure what that is in kilometres, as I resist the metric, wherever possible!
    Good luck with the event, I have no doubt you will do very well. Regards from England. Pete.

    • Pete,

      There is a place in the UK called Beetley! I just saw it on Google maps. Kind of close to Birch Grove and Gressen Hall (okay, I wrote that just so you knew I looked).

      Thank you for your words of encouragement. Okay, while I get 5 out and 5 back might not seem so bad, it still adds up to 10. I am planning some training walks in the next couple of weeks; a four and five mile walk a couple of times. I do need to know how it feels.

      Please give my best to Julie.

      Phil

      • beetleypete says:

        Once you have done 4/5 miles Phil, you will be on track, no problem. I was having a little joke with my comment, but not being sarcastic.
        You have spotted Beetley well on the map. Gressenhall is the next village, and the only place with a shop!
        Regards as always, Pete.

  2. Phil, welcome to my world of racing! I hope you enjoy your training and your time. After finishing, whatever the type, you can add athlete to your resume.

    • Jane,

      Thank you for the encouragement – that means a lot to me. I don’t know about the racing part. But, it’s so nice that you might consider me to be an athlete. I think I’m just happy to be able to get out there and be fairly certain of finishing. I will occasionally update everyone on the training regime, which I hope folks will find to be at least mildly entertaining.

      To tell the truth as I was out walking tonight I was still asking myself, “What have I done?”

      Phil

  3. Way to go Phil! I am doing a 5K walk for Juvenile Diabetes on the 13th of Oct in our area. I know you can do it.. You’re a CHAMP!

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

