“You don’t get to eat the good foods.”

watermelon

So, there I was talking with the woman who works next to me, Jenny.  She was eating a bit of watermelon and offered me some.  Let me tell you, I love watermelon…love it, but turned it down.  Why?  Well, the truth is that while it smelled great, I didn’t want any.

Jenny said to me, “That’s right, you don’t get to eat the good foods.”

“What’s a good food?” He comment really had me wondering what she thought were good foods.

“You know, blue berries, black berries, bananas,…fruit.”  Okay, thats really good food.

I looked at her for a moment and then smiled.  I realized she didn’t have a clue as to what I eat or don’t eat,  And, why should she?  She doesn’t have Diabetes.  Why should she know anything about a Diabetic diet?  In fact, I don’t think she has ever really seen me eat.

“Jenny, I love and eat the berries you mentioned, and bananas, and oranges.  This morning my breakfast was blue berries, black berries, half of a small banana, a slice of toast (12 g carb) with a thin spread of peanut butter (4 g carb) and coffee.  It’s all in how much of them I eat. And, that was a lot of food!”

“You just eat less.”  Ah, she understands.

“Yep.  But, I eat enough.”

Now, I not going out and eating cookies, cake, pies and (my all time favorite) ice cream.  A bite or spoonful is enough.  But, when I was starting to work to control my Diabetes, I didn’t eat them at all.  So, it’s not really that difficult for me, now.

Yeah, I know, that’s kind of extreme for some folks.  Would it hurt if I had a bit of a cookie? Probably not.  And, when I make the decision to eat something, I am controlling my Diabetes.; the food is not controlling me.  Yes, there are a lot of “I’s” and “my’s” in that sentence, but nobody else controls my disease.  Only I can control my Diabetes.

And, you know what?  Only YOU can control your Diabetes.  The good news is that you can.  I know you can.  I BELIEVE you can!  You can win your War On Diabetes.

And, yes, Jenny, I can eat all kinds of good food!  More than you might imagine.

Please remember that the foods I eat, you might not be able to eat and control your Diabetes. You discover what works for you, and what doesn’t, by maintaining a food journal (of course, I have provided one for you to download and use – it’s that important).  If you haven’t, start one. If you have started, keep it up until you are in control.  Be patient.  It takes a while to make your discoveries.  If it pushes your glucose up, it might not be a good food for you – makes sense, right? Plus, it works as a great reminder to take meds and exercise a bit, if you it.

Remember your weapons in your War On Diabetes are Diet, Exercise and Meds.  Control your Diet; add a dash of Exercise and take your Meds as prescribed and controlling Diabetes will not be far off.  Depend on your Medical Team – your doctor, pharmacist and other professionals – to be your coaches.  Every champion needs coaches – and YOU are a champion.  You really are.  If you don’t have good coaches, find them – it’s that important.  I was truly blessed to have the finest coaches working with me.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control, Exercise & Diet
2 comments on ““You don’t get to eat the good foods.”
  1. beetleypete says:

    Good advice about that most important of things- FOOD.
    Julie is learning all this slowly, and realising that some things are better left out, as just having a small portion makes her want more. In time, she will learn to balance desire and need, and not just abstain totally, as she does currently.
    Thanks Phil, and regards from England. Pete.

    • Pete,

      When I was first diagnosed, and in order to gain control and get habits started that would be with me for life, I chose to not eat certain things. For me it was anything with added sugar, desserts, fried foods, etc. Bread I had to change to whole wheat bread that has a lower carb count – I became very carb aware. I was diagnosed in September and it was the Sunday before Christmas of that year before I had two spoonfuls of pie – two teaspoons of pie – two bites. And, it was several more months before I would allow myself to have any amount of something sweet.

      My point is that I understand the ‘leaving it behind’ approach because that is the one that worked for me. Now, about once a month, I might have a LITTLE ice cream or one cookie. I find that I normally don’t miss it; don’t have the cravings or strong desire for any of it. My goal was, and continues to be a ‘normal’ glucose level and A1c. My goal never was to be off of Diabetes meds – it just worked out that way.

      Take care, and give Julie my best.
      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

