Not Again!

Simpson distraction

There I was.  Out taking my nightly walk…just yesterday, as a matter of fact.  I was enjoying the weather and the gloaming. (Gloaming – another word I have never used in a written sentence in my life, but I just love the word.)  The way night falls during twilight is breathtaking to me.  It better be since that’s when I take my walk.

Anyway, before I get side-tracked, or distracted, (You will find out just how appropriate that comment is in a moment), let me get on with something I discovered.  So, there I was walking, looking forward, as I have written about before, when I looked to my left. This was not just some quick glance, but a head turn look.  I was distracted by something.  A dog barking.  A house that was being fumigated or painted.  Something got my attention.

So, I looked.  I got distracted.  Now, a funny think happened: my body wanted to go where I was looking.  My body wanted to swerve to the left. I have to admit to being a slow learner.  I can’t tell you how often this has happened before; I look in a different direction than the one in which I am headed and I swerve in that direction – off the sidewalk and onto grass.

But, this was the first time I really noticed what was going on.  Not only does it cause me to slow down and lose the pace I was maintaining, I don’t even get a good look at what attracted my attention.  Okay, I had to make a choice: Continue with my walk, or take a closer look at whatever attracted me.  Well, I always choose to continue my walk – to move in the direction I was originally going.

distraction sign small

But, without pounding it into the ground, there’s a life lesson, here, right?  Kind of obvious, huh?  Pick the direction and maintain it.  If you start getting side-tracked, your walk may never be completed.  The success of finishing or achieving a goal might never be accomplished – and never felt.

Your War On Diabetes might never be won, if you don’t maintain a consistent fight. Don’t get distracted from the goal of Diabetes control or beating Prediabetes. You are fighting for your life…and that’s not a bunch of hype when you consider the complications.

See, I didn’t beat the point into the ground too far, did I?

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Lessons From Diabetes
One comment on “Not Again!
  1. beetleypete says:

    Nice analogy Phil. Regards from England. Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

