New Numbers

Wanted for crimes against typing. Has sharp teeth and claws.  If seen, approach with caution.

Wanted for crimes against typing. Has sharp teeth and claws. If seen, approach with caution.  Do not be fooled by her cute appearance.

Disclaimer: If there are any typos in this post, I am blaming them on the kitten who tried to help me type.  She has not taken a keyboard class, yet, and still has a few problems with her typing.  And, she is really bad at taking dictation!

Early last week I believe I mentioned that I had my visit with my doctor this week…and it happened today.  For those of you who don’t know, my GP guides and counsels me in my Diabetes treatment.  I’ve been seeing him for over 20 years and trust him completely.  Additionally, he knows me and knows how to motivate me to success.  I only hope all of you have the same relationship with your doctor that I have with mine.

So, late last week I had a lot of blood and ‘stuff’ taken in preparation for this appointment.

The Big Reveal

Weight is 186 – within 2 pounds of where he wants me.  Honestly, my weight seems to depend on the day.  In the last week I have been as low as 182 and as high as 187.  I figure 186 is about right.  Maybe 185 before breakfast?   Every pound counts, right?

A1c is at 6.1 – no change in the last 18 months and I have been off of Diabetes meds for six months at my doctor’s strong suggestion.  He thought I could control it through exercise and diet and he has proven to be right.

BP is 120/78 – not bad, but it take a low dose of blood pressure medicine, specifically an ARB, to get there.  A lot of Diabetics are on some sort of blood pressure meds and my doc is talking about reducing them further.  he is forcing me to do more exercise to keep the numbers where they are at…could this be a conspiracy???

The other thing is cholesterol.  When my doctor took me off of cholesterol meds I was well within norms and since I was on a very low dose, he wanted to see if I could do without the meds.  Well, the numbers came back a bit high, so he put me back on 5 mg of Lipitor – the lowest possible dosage.

All-in-all, I’m pleased.  Sustained weight loss is 69 pounds (70 if weighed before breakfast).  I am maintaining a decent A1c – I started at 13.0 when diagnosed.  BP – very pleased even if it is helped by meds.  Cholesterol – I am a bit disappointed.  Although, it might just be hereditary.  He wants to check it again in 60 days after I’ve been taking the meds.

Since so many Diabetics are on blood pressure and cholesterol meds, I am going to ask our friendly pharmacist Katherine, if she would do a few posts about the most common ones.

And there you have it.  I battle and fight Diabetes just like you do; I fight my own War On Diabetes and have been fighting it since I was diagnosed.  Just like you it’s a day to day; meal to meal battle about choices.  Make enough of the right choices and you win – it’s really that simple.

You can win YOUR War On Diabetes…I believe it.  You need to believe it.

As always, thank you for reading.  Katherine, our pharmacist, and I are so very grateful for each of you.  We just passed 200 followers (blog and Tumblr) which I think is remarkable since we are always challenging you to change; to take action and control your Diabetes.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control
3 comments on “New Numbers
  1. Such great news Phil!. Way to go 🙂

  2. beetleypete says:

    Looks like you are still winning your war Phil. Well done mate! Regards from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

