In Which I Learn to …Weight For It

keep-calm-and-just-relax-2

I apologize.  I just couldn’t let that easy pun slide by. It was just way too easy and begging to be used.

So, now that you’ve gotten the moans and groans out of your system, as most puns seem to inspire, stay with me a moment.

So many of us are losing weight, or have to lose weight.  It’s not as easy as some think, is it?  And, yet if we are to be healthy; if we are to control Diabetes, it has to be done.

I’m not going to try and tell you which method is best: counting carbs or calories.  They both can work for folks.  Regular readers know I count carbs; it’s much easier for me to count to 50, plus or minus, for each meal, than to count to 500 or 750, or whatever your calorie guide is.

But, I have one tip…just one simple tip to offer regarding losing weight: Relax.  Yep, that’s it.  That’s my secret weapon.  Take a few moments before each meal and relax.  Enjoy your surroundings.  Enjoy the people you are with.  Enjoy how your plate looks and smells.  Take time to drink a glass of water and just relax.

And, since you are probably eating less, take time to enjoy each bite.  How it feels.  Detect the flavors.  Don’t hurry.  In the past, we may have been in a hurry to eat and get on to something else; ever hear of ‘fast’ food?  I know I approached eating that way quite often.  Now, well, I’m not in a hurry to finish my meal.

I was reminded about this tonight as I was speaking with a friend who has recently begun a weight loss program.  The way she described the vegetables she was preparing was exquisite.  I could taste them…smell them…imagine them.  Even now, I’m salivating!

What was she doing?  She was taking the time to enjoy the process; relaxing .  In fact, she picked some of the vegetables she was using from her garden.  How great is that? Try that with fast food.

She was slowing down; the act of preparing her dinner, instead of getting fast food, allowed her to decompress from her day.  And, after putting her food in her plate, she took a few minutes just to enjoy the scent.  And, when she finally began to eat, she ate less.  Was she ‘full’ when she finished eating?  No.  But, she knew to wait just a few minutes – about 10, so her brain could catch up with her stomach – or vice versa – and she would feel satisfied.

My friend is discovering a true weight loss secret – relax and wait.  It’s just waiting for you to discover it, as well.

So, if you need to lose a little weight, learn to relax and wait for it.  That has been my secret weapon in the weight loss war…which leads to better health and control of Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
2 comments on “In Which I Learn to …Weight For It
  1. It’s sad that most of us have lost the art of eating or dining, and (despite all the cooking shows and cook books) cooking. Everything is either a rush or eating in front of a screen (TV, computer, or game console), and many people eat alone instead of eating in a social setting (even families). I hate rush eating – always gives me tummy ache.

    I can also vouch for relax and wait as an important tool in losing weight and maintaining weight loss.

    • Jane,

      I have read your comment several times and it has made me think. You are so right – lots of shows about cooking these marvelous meals. But, nobody emphasizes taking the time to relax and enjoy them. Even if I am eating a simple sandwich, I take the time to savor each bite – there are fewer of them than before. And, to tell you the truth, I love food! Love everything about it from the scents to the texture to presentation. And, none of those add a single carb!

      Thanks for taking the time to read and leave a comment.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

