Pasta – Back On The Menu

pasta2

A picture of pasta on a Diabetes blog?  What am I thinking? Well, I’m thinking I love pasta – I have loved it my entire life.  I have had an on-going love affair with pasta that has had to go on hold; we needed a vacation from one another to clear our heads and so my glucose level and weight would decrease…maybe even learn to appreciate others (other food) as I worked to control my Diabetes.

When I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes I made a near instantaneous diet change.  Somewhere between a breakfast and a lunch, I went from being a person who didn’t have a clue what a carb was to being able to spot them at 100 yards – without my glasses!  At first, it seemed that the world was full of nothing but carbohydrates.

And, if the truth were known, my pre-diagnoses diet was one that was very heavy in carbs and fats.  (Fats are a horror story I will save for another day.)  Basically, if I was eating, I was eating carbs – like about 250+ per meal.  You really have to be impressed with that kind of consumption, right?

So, my first step was to eliminate most carbs. So, after talking with a nutritionist and establishing a starting diet, I was good to go.  That meant I had to say good-bye to my old friends of bread, pasta, potatoes, cookies, ice cream, pie…you know, all of the good stuff.  I swear that I thought I invented the breakfast cookie: peanut butter between two large oatmeal cookies.  They were oatmeal…really…with raisins.  They were good for me, right?  Not so much.

So, after not having pasta but in the smallest amounts for the last three years, I was really surprised when I came across ‘Dreamfields” pasta.  I tripped over them by accident on the internet.  I really don’t want this to be an ad, so you can look at the site for yourself.  After reading and careful consideration, I decided to try it.

dreamfields

I made my basic sauce from a secret family recipe and cooked the pasta.  Gave myself the suggested portion.  The taste was right.  The texture good.  And, the glucose reading two hours later was right where it should be.

So, for me…again, for me, pasta is back on the menu.  We are all a bit different, so your mileage my vary.  But, it’s worth a try if you like pasta.  Remember, portion it correctly.  I can’t eat pasta like I used to – about three of four times the suggested portion size.  But, you know what?  The portion size was just great – especially combined with a salad.  (No garlic bread!)

So, I get to love pasta once again again, once in awhile.  No longer will it be a case of unrequited love.  We can enjoy one another once a a while. Maybe you can enjoy it again, too, as you fight your War On Diabetes or Predibates.

Please remember that I control my Diabetes through diet and exercise.  Every bite I take is, or has been, carefully considered for food value, taste, and most of all – not having a huge impact on my glucose levels.  So, when I find a food that works, and one that might work for you, always know that it comes from personal experience from a War veteran.

And, one more time, just because it works for me, it might not work for you.  But, you know what, Dreamfields just might be worth trying.

The basic disclaimer applies: I don’t get a thing from Dreamfields – nada, nothing, zero, zip.  I think it’s important to pass on foods that work for me, and might work for you, from time-to-time that makes fighting your War On Diabetes a bit easier.

As always, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
4 comments on “Pasta – Back On The Menu
  1. RogueGirl says:

    As much as I love spaghetti squash, it really isn’t pasta.

    Yay for finding something your body won’t get all goofy over!!

  2. I miss pasta. I do have it as side dish (and in Japan, a side dish of pasta is a very small serving as a “side” dish). I make do with shiritaki noodles in place of pasta but it’s just not the same. I hope someone sells Dreamfields in Japan.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

