New Exercise Equipment!

exercise equipment

So far, I’ve spent pretty much nothing on exercise equipment.  Well, that changed today.  I went out and bought a new piece of equipment.  As with any purchase, I gave it a lot of thought.  Would I really use it?  Would it just sit in a room and not get used?  Would it help me in my War On Diabetes?

You know – all of the usual questions before you purchase a piece of equipment.

As you may know, I walk for my basic form of exercise, and have since I was first diagnosed with Diabetes.  Five or six days a week for a minimum of 30 minutes, I walk.  Yes, I walk farther and faster than when I started, but it’s still one foot in front of another.  Three days a week I add a little resistance training using the machine a neighbor gave me.  So, really, I have not spent anything on exercise equipment or a gym membership (I wouldn’t go to a gym, anyway).

weight machine

Anyway, I decided a new piece of equipment would be useful and that it would not gather dust.  So, earlier today I went out to buy it. I figured I’d take it with me, so I wouldn’t have to deal with any delivery people, and I was fairly confident that if needed, I could figure out how it all went together.

With the cash in my pocket, I went in the store.  They took a measurement, or two. Double checked them to make sure everything was good, and I walked out with my new piece of equipment…

A piece of rope.  What in the heck am I going to do with a piece of rope?  Jump rope. Well, skip rope, really.  I spent all of $2.28 for a 12 foot piece of rope at Home Depot. And, you know what, it works!  I can get my heart rate up faster and it’s kind of fun! Yeah, there’s going to be a bit of a learning curve as I get used to skipping rope, but am very confident that it will all come back to me quickly.

The new rope and, yes, those are my trusty Chuck's.

The new rope and, yes, those are my trusty Chuck’s.

My plan is to walk, and then skip rope for about 10 minutes, and/or skip rope and then do a bit of resistance training.  It’s just another way for me to exercise to add a bit of variety.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my walk, but every once in a while I want to do something different.  For me, it will be skipping rope.  And, if you have kids around, everyone could skip rope!  How great would that be? Exercising and getting quality family time!

If you want to skip rope, my advice is to go into a store that sells jump ropes.  The rope I picked up at Home Depot is a bit lighter than I really want.  I just looked on the internet and you can find jump ropes under $10.00 – ones with handles and everything – pretty easy.  And, you know the great thing about jumping rope?  You can do it in a patio, garage…or even a basement if the ceiling is tall enough. The weather does not have to effect your exercise routine.

So, go out and feel like a kid again – jump rope to fight your War On Diabetes! And, get this – you can burn 120 to 150, or more, calories with just a moderate pace skipping rope for 10 minutes.  This is great stuff!

By the way, if there is anyone out there who is a physical therapist or trainer who wants to contribute to this blog, please contact me using the form below.

As always, thank you for reading.  Remember, it is YOUR War On Diabetes – or Prediabetes – and YOU can win it.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

