My Life In Numbers – Part Two

255

The Glucose Readings are only part of the story.  They are only one set of numbers; the other set of numbers is just as important – the weight numbers.  There is a direct correlation between losing weight, lower glucose readings, and gaining control over Diabetes.

That 255 was my weight when I was diagnosed with Diabetes.  I am 6’0″ tall.  255 pounds is a lot of extra weight to be carrying!  So, did my doctor tell me to lose a bunch of weight?  Did he tell me I was going to need to lose 50 pounds or more?  No.  His exact words were, “You are going to need to lose a little weight.”  A little weight?  Heck, I could lose a ‘little weight.’

So, I started walking in old Reeboks that should have been thrown out two years before.  I walked for 30 minutes that first evening over three years ago.  The doctor told me it didn’t matter how far I went; I just needed to get out for 30 minutes.  I went about 3/4 of a mile that first night, but I was out.

247

 

When I saw 247, I knew I was on my way to losing weight.  I knew it wasn’t much, but I had never lost a pound in my life, so to lose eight of them and to be ‘safely’ under 250 was a very big deal.  It proved to me I could lose weight.   Hey, I clearly knew how to add weight, but taking it off was completely new to me.  The elation and victory I felt when I first saw 247 was incredible.  I was on my way.

I felt like I was losing a pound a day…well, maybe not that much, but it felt like it.  And, my clothes were getting a little big on me – and I loved that!

219

 

I don’t know why that number has stuck with me.  I remember going into the doctor’s office and being weighed in.  219!  I thought I had lost all of the weight I needed to lose.  You see, the doctor had not given me a specific goal or target.  I kind of figured at 219 I’d be done losing.  I was wrong.  He told me, “I still want you to lose a little more weight.”  My response?  “Okay.”

What had I done to lose it?  I walked five or six nights a week for 30 minutes and was following a lower carb diet.  Not a low carb diet; a lower carb diet.  The dietician I went to see told me to eat about 55 to 60 carbs per meal and have 15 carb snacks.  Now, 55 to 60 carbs might sound like a lot, but before being diagnosed it would have been easy for me to eat 200 carbs at a meal.  Between meals and snacks, I felt like I was always eating!

By the way, my daily glucose readings were falling as were my A1c results.  But, I was still not where my doctor wanted me. I was getting close, but still had work to do.

193

 

Under 200!  I was really happy.   It took me the better part of 8 months to lose the weight – like 60 pounds.  My A1c was 5.9 and my doctor was cautiously pleased.  He still wanted me to lose a bit more.  I was clueless about the BMI (Body Mass Index).  My diet was working for me.  I was on 1500 mg of Metoformin and decided to lower to dosage to see what would happen.  Nothing happened.  No increase in glucose readings.  I continued to walk and to follow my diet, which had become almost second nature by this time.

And, I stayed at 193 for almost two years.  While my doctor wanted me to lose a little more weight (the very same terms he used at the beginning of my adventure), he began to accept that I might not.  I was trying to lose, but had not been successful.  At least I had not gained, and we were both happy about that.

I added a bit of resistance training to my walks.  In the beginning it was just leg lifts and push-ups, and then my neighbor gave me a Bowflex machine.  (No endorsement implied or given—it’s what was given me.)  And a funny thing happened:

184

 

Yep…I lost a bit more weight.  I had hit the top area of my ideal weight.  My BMI was 24.9.  When I started I was 34.6 – obese. And, what did my doctor do to celebrate?  He took me off of all meds.  It took me almost two years to lose that last nine pounds – but it really happened in less than three months – after adding the bit of extra exercise.

My A1c remains at 5.9 to 6.1.  I am having a new test in about a month, and will let you know the results.

My weight did go up a little – to a high of 188, but I am losing it again.  This morning I was at 185.  One pound to go!

Why have I told you my numbers?  Because they did not go down over-night, which only makes sense since it took me 25 years to put the weight on and become a Diabetic.  Losing weight takes time.  It’s not going to come off over-night no matter what some folks promise.  Be patient.  Be dedicated.  And, you will be successful.

None of this would have happened if I had not declared War On Diabetes.  I decided that the disease would not define me and would not control me.  The only alternative was to work to control the disease.  You can control it.

If you have been diagnosed with Prediabetes, get busy.  Exercise and Diet can work to reverse the condition or postpone the onset of Diabetes.  And, trust me – ask any Diabetic if they should have declared war when they were told they had Prediabetes. They will all tell you to fight.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
2 comments on “My Life In Numbers – Part Two
  1. mjohnson9706 says:

    No truer words, “Be patient. Be dedicated. And, you will be successful.” Love it!

  2. Thank you for sharing. I was a little nervous when I first read your post (Part 1) because I am allergic to numbers as I tend to get tied to details. But your posts put a perspective on numbers that many can relate to and can help others like me who get lost in the numbers and lose sight of the big picture. And congratulations on the “decline” in your weight and BG numbers.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

