The Conversation I Wish I Had

talking to self

Eight years ago my doctor told me I had Prediabetes.  I took that seriously, so seriously that I went out to breakfast and had three eggs, hash browns and buttered toast.  Hey, I didn’t have bacon!  That was a big deal.  And, that was my total fight against Prediabetes.

So how did that work out?  Well, not bad if my goal was to get Diabetes.  I just wish I knew then what I know now.  If I could turn back the clock, I’d have a different kind of conversation with myself…a conversation that would go something like…

Diabetic Me: “You have Prediabetes and need to make some changes starting today.”

Old Me: “But, it’s only Prediabetes.  It can’t be that big a deal.”

DM: “Really?  You don’t think so?  Forget the millions that have it…”

OM: “Wait, millions have it?  Well, it can’t be that bad.  They are still walking around and doing things.  Besides, there’s a pill, or something.”

DM: “Yeah, there’s a pill.  There’s a lot of pills.  Different kinds of pills.  And, they  can all help control Diabetes…”

OM: “See, what did I tell you?  There’s a pill for it.”

DM: “So, tell me, if you think it’s so easy, why do so few really control Diabetes?  Why do so many find it so difficult?”

OM: “They’re wimps.”

DM: “No, they aren’t.  Diabetes is a tough disease.  And, one of the few you are responsible for fighting.”

OM: “Me?”

DM: “Yes, you. Your Doctor can only do so much.  It’s up to you.  What, you don’t know Diabetes is for life?  Once you have Diabetes, you will always be a Diabetic.  What rock are you living under?”

OM: “Well, I’ll be different.  I will control it.”

DM: “Maybe, but probably not.  Even if you could control it, why would you ever put yourself in that position?  Why would you ever let yourself get Diabetes?”

OM: “It’s not that bad.  Not really.  You are just trying to scare me, now. I know scare tactics when I hear them.”

DM: “Scare you? Are you just that ignorant?  Maybe I should just stop wasting my time talking with you.  Clearly, if you want to have Diabetes, be my guest.  But, I think you better know that Diabetes is the 7th Leading Cause of Death in the United States.”

OM: “7th?”

DM: “Got your attention, huh?  Yes. 7th.  And, there are a lot of complications that can come with Diabetes if you don’t control it.”

OM: “Like what?”

I’d be interested about now.  But, still unbelieving.  If so many have it, there must be a lot of folks working on it for better treatment.

DM: “Diabetes attacks everything if you don’t control it; if you don’t fight it into submission.  You need to declare War On Diabetes…or Prediabetes. Think of it as a disease of the blood – and your blood goes everywhere and touches everything.  You would be at risk for a whole laundry list of complications.”

OM: “Maybe so.  But they wouldn’t happen to me.”

DM: “Think again, Fool. Diabetes fights quietly.  You don’t feel sick, and then one day something from your brain to your heart to your feet isn’t right.  And, then it’s too late.”

No smart retort from me.  I’d be thinking.

DM: “Tell me, why would you ever allow yourself to have Diabetes, if you could fight and reverse it?  Reverse it.  Or, at the very least, postpone the disease.  Why wouldn’t you take Diabetes seriously? Of course, if you want Diabetes, be my guest…Hey, did you know that three kinds of disease are normally used together as ones to avoid?  

OM: “What are they?”

DM: “Cancer. Heart Disease. And, you guessed it, Diabetes.  These are chronic diseases. People just don’t get iDiabetes is serious.  You have a chance to fight and reverse it.  You have a chance to beat it.  Folks take cancer seriously.  Don’t you think they would do anything it fight it if there was ‘Pre-Cancer? Of course, they would.  Well, get a clue.  Diabetes is just as dangerous. It’s a slower disease, but can destroy you from the inside out.”

OM “You’re just trying to scare me, again.”  I’d not be so sure about that, but I’d have to keep my resistance up…kind of.

DM: “How am I doing?  Diabetes is nothing to laugh at and a disease…a disease to take seriously.”

OM: “So, what do I have to do?”

I got him!

DM: “Lose a bit of weight.  Change how you eat; go for a lower carb diet.  Exercise a little – like a short 30 minute walk everyday.  That’s it.”

OM: “I can do that.”

DM: “We’ll see.  But, if you can, you have a great chance at beating back Prediabetes.”

OM: “I can do it.”

DM: “Then, get to it, Kid.  You’re wasting time.”

I just wish I knew enough to have had that talk with myself.  I would have beat back Prediabetes…if I had only known.  I would have declared War, then.  Learn from my mistake…please.

*****

As always. thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Prediabetes
2 comments on “The Conversation I Wish I Had
  1. RogueGirl says:

    Phil, I wish I had been told that I was running a risk for diabetes. Had I known then, what I know now, I would have been fighting a lot harder, sooner.

    Keep up the good fight!

    • Rogue,

      Thank you. I think a lot of folks would be fighting harder if they knew, or realized, what was at stake. But some of us are just slow learners…like me…who have to be hit with a brick.

      Fight and win, Rogue…fight and win.

      Thank you for your time.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

