What Goes On In A Diabetic’s Head?

potato head

Are there more famous heads than Mr & Mrs Potato Head?

What goes on in a Daibetic’s head…

There’s a pill…isn’t there?

Anger

Denial

Choices

Why me?  Why not (anybody else)?

Too many choices

It’s just Diabetes

Prediabetes?  Really can’t be that bad…or they would have a better name for it

Depression

Alone

Darn pump

Fear

Will I ever get better?

A1c…what is it again?

Exercise…no…maybe

What if….I never control it?

It’s hard…I don’t wanna

That number can’t be right; my meter must be broken (I really thought that)

Complications – won’t happen to me (think again – statistics are against you)

It’s a good day…it’s a bad day

French fries aren’t that bad (yeah, they are)

Accepting

Learning how to fight

Learning how to lose weight

Establishing a life diet

Hey, I AM healthier

Exercise isn’t so bad

I’ve lost 20 pounds!!

Controlling

Winning the War

We’ve all had those thoughts…and more.  We all probably have the t-shirt in our closet.  I hope you get beyond the anger and frustration stage.   Learn that you can control it.  That you will declare your War On Diabetes and Win.  You can win. You can control it. Tens of thousands are doing it everyday.

What thoughts did you have?

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control
4 comments on “What Goes On In A Diabetic’s Head?
  1. RogueGirl says:

    I’m fighting two wars: the one against diabetes and the one against the anger of being diabetic.

    Thankfully, somewhere in there, I’ve had the good sense to lace up the running shoes and get walking and cut out the potato chips whilst being angry.

    Thanks for this!

    • Rogue,

      You have not just good sense, but ‘great sense’ to not let your anger and frustration paralyze you from working to control Diabetes. Very smart. And, those little walks can be so very wonderful, can’t they? You are winning your Wars!

      Thank you for reading – I appreciate it more than you know.

      Phil

  2. I love this post. It almost tracked my own thoughts and the evolution of those thoughts. I especially like the last one – winning the war. I often see a lot of depression, anger, bitterness, even sad resignation in many diabetes boards. I want to see more positive, hopeful and happy diabetics – I mean diabetes will always be there (until they actually find a cure) but life is more than just diabetes, and diabetes does not have to rain on our parade.

  3. You are very kind as always. And, so very right. Diabetes is a part of our lives, but does not have to define us or reduce the quality of life we experience. In fact, I think my overall quality of life has improved since diagnoses since I am healthier than I ever have been – well, except for that Diabetes thing.

    We are not about resignation or defeat here. We know the disease can be controlled and that folks can win their war – if the only declare war and mean it. Resignation and defeat are really not options – the price paid is way too high.

    You always make me think about something more – thank you so very much.

    Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

