Hair!

hair 4

Hair? Long, beautiful hair?  What is he doing?  This is a blog about Diabetes.  What’s this about hair?  All will become clear if you please bear with me while I tell you a story.

I met Joe about a year ago.  And, yes, that’s his real first name.  Joe is talented, creative, caring and dedicated.  (Joe, have your boss read that!)  I happened to see him today and the first thing I noticed was the length of his hair…or the lack of length.  You see, it used to be about a foot long.  So, being a bit interested (okay, you might be able to substitue the word ‘nosey’) and wanting to let him know I did notice a difference (how could you not?), I asked him if he liked his new hair cut; did it feel different.

That’s when I found out he grew his hair for one reason: to donate to juvenile cancer patients.  Joe is just as happy, and perhaps even happier, with short hair.  But, he found a way to give back and that was by growing his hair.

Regular readers know where I am headed, right?

Joe works about 55 to 60 hours per week and more.  Between work and what goes on in life, Joe doesn’t have a whole lot of time.  And, yet he found a way to give back.  Talk about a creative approach to give!  And, he was able to do it within his personal time constraints.  It was definitely a win-win-win situation.

As Diabetics it’s so easy to become “I focused;” so easy to just think of ourselves and our disease.  In fact, I have seen spouses alienated because of this very trait.  And, I get it…I really do.  You need to be a bit obsessed with controlling the diseasw if you are going to be successful – more about that soon.  But, we have to find ways to give back, pay it forward, or whatever term it is you want to use.  Why?  Because, surprise – you and I are not the Center of the Universe.  Sound harsh?  Maybe a little.  But it does not make it any less accurate, does it?

Start to look outside of yourself – there are folks around you that could use a smile.  A cheerful word.  Encouragement.  Try doing a Random Act of Kindness.  Seek opportunities to give and don’t be afraid to get creative.  Hey, you can grow hair, right?

Why?  Because you will find that fighting the War On Diabetes will be easier.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Hair!
  1. I love this post. As you said we tend to be “I focused.” From the few people I know whose medical conditions are (or were) worse than my type 2 diabetes, I have learned that the worse the condition, the more “not-me-focused” people become, the more they try to make the best of their lives by serving others, and the more of an inspiration they become (and most of the time, being an inspiration is something they haven’t even really considered). I have no doubt that if we stop being “I focused” and be “others focused,” our own lives, our community and our world will be a much much better.

    • Thank you. You have inspired the germ of an idea. I think we can make the world a bit better, and that each of us has a responsibility to at least try to do something. Even a random act of kindness can have a huge ripple effect that we might never know about.

      You really have me thinking!

      Thanks, again.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

