Team YOU

brooklyn-baseball-team

Well, it is baseball season, right?

I read a post several weeks ago and thought I’d cheerfully rip bits and pieces from it because the post speaks to all Diabetics.  Type 1’s, Type 2’s and Prediabetics.  The entire post can be seen at Running Without Sugar.  I know Running reads this blog and want to thank her for taking the time to write the post that I am gleefully quoting.

You see, we are  not in the War On Diabetes alone.  Most of us have a number of folks with us in the fight, even when we don’t realize it.  Sometimes we can get so “I” centered we don’t see them…

“Take my case. It’s so easy for me to see diabetes as being just about me. I can be consumed by my diabetic needs and problems that I sometimes forget that others don’t have diabetes, that they too have their own needs and problems, and that I too have to be there for them as much as they are there for me. It’s so tempting to whine and wallow in self-pity instead of facing the daily challenges of controlling one’s diabetes, just as it is so tempting to stop at the 38 km. mark.”

So, who is on our Team; who is fighting the War with us?  Well, if you are like a lot of Diabetics, there is a spouse or significant other who keeps us in check…

“Thankfully, my husband is the master of nipping my diabetes-induced self-centeredness, “woe is me” attitude and self-importance in the bud. He is my main support system.”

And, there are other family members who can encourage us and who will ultimately benefit from a healthier diet. A number of you have written about this phenomenon, and don’t we owe it to our children to not let them grow up to be Diabetics.

So, there’s your family to support you, but there are a lot of others…

“I also owe a lot to other people. I’ve been so lucky to have found my GP and endocrinologist who are both compassionate, caring and knowledgeable, their nurses and staff, as well as other non-principal (but still important) members of my medical team. To me, they are more than “prescription writers” or an inconvenient necessity to get my regular tests. They are vital collaborators in maintaining my health.”

She is describing her Medical Team.  Your doctor(s), pharmacist and you are your Basic Health Team.  Beyond that, there might be nurses, counselors, nutritionists and dietitians  physical therapists – and a few others I have probably forgotten.

I have written over and over about my Wonderful Health Team – my great doctor, Chase my pharmacist, a nurse, and of course, Katherine – the pharmacist who writes for this blog who I have begun to refer to as America’s Diabetes Pharmacist (yeah, she cringes a bit when I do that).  Any victory I have had in my War On Diabetes is shared with them.  I could never have done it by myself.

And, while you have your family to offer support, sometimes friends can have a big impact…

“My friends who know my condition have been respectful and trusting of my decisions and choices. They do not second guess me, and are certainly not the food police.”

I could not have said it better…friends who care about you can make the War so much easier.  We are not in it alone.

“So, if you haven’t expressed it yet, it’s time we let our personal cheerleaders know how much we appreciate them. They may not have our diabetes, but they certainly share it, and sometimes live it, with us.”

You are in a War, but you are not alone.  You, and your ENTIRE team, can win your War On Diabetes.

Thank you again to Running With Sugar.

And, as always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

