Snack On Time

Shark jaws

The image just made me smile.  Do you ever feel that way at snack time?  That was one the reasons I gained a few pounds back – feeling just as hungry as that shark at my night snack time.

If you are a regular reader, you know that I managed to gain three pounds in three months.  I thought I was being careful – but scales don’t lie – if they are calibrated correctly.  As a result of my most recent weigh-in, I went back to using a food diary/journal.  And, I have told you about the 2:00 a.m. feedings – which are becoming fewer and fewer.

The food diary gave me a piece of information I did not expect.  I discovered that I had stopped eating by the clock – especially for my last snack.  Eating by the clock means I eat at, or near specific times and I eat specific amounts in terms of carb count.  The last snack of the day should happen at around 8:30 – 9:00, which is a bit late, I know, and be about 15 carbs.  I should eat dinner at about 6:00…exercise, do a few things, and then have a snack.

Pretty simple and straight forward, right?  It worked for me.  Seventy pounds were lost eating this way; eating by the clock.  So, you’d think I would continue to do just that when I was taken off of Metformin.  Yeah, you’d think so.  Not so much.

My last snack was getting pushed back to 10:00 or 10:30 – late – and it was bigger because I was hungry.  Ravenous – kind of like that shark.  And, then I was eating again at 2:00 a.m.  No wonder I was gaining weight.  You see, I just wasn’t hungry at 8:30, so I just waited.  VERY bad idea.  When I was eating on a schedule, it didn’t matter if I was hungry, or not.  I ate the allowed carbs, and that was it.

And, it worked.  My body got used to the eating on a schedule pretty quickly.  I didn’t wake up hungry in the middle of the night.  It was great.

Guess what I am going back to doing?  Eating a specific amount of carbs on a schedule.  It worked for me before, and it will work again.  Diet does not only mean what you eat, but when you eat it.  Timing is important.  For me, it’s:

  • Breakfast at 6:00
  • Snack at 9:00
  • Lunch at 11:45
  • Snack at 3:00
  • Dinner at 6:00
  • Snack at 8:30

All times can vary by about 30 minutes. Meals are about 50 carbs; snacks are 15 carbs.

It’s simple – I like simple. It’s just getting back to basics.

You can win your War On Diabetes…one day and one meal at a time.

As always, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

