2:00 AM Feedings

Raiding the Fridge

I went to the doctor today. And, what happens when you go to the doctor?  You get weighed – among other things.  I have gained a pound a month for the last three months.  Okay – not a big, big deal.  But, I find it a bit concerning since weight and Diabetes are so closely connected.

Besides, I just got my BMI down to 24.8 about four months ago – don’t want to mess that up.  While I am still at 24.9, I have to curb this weight gain immediately.  So, what’s causing it?

Wait a second – I should bring new readers up to date briefly.  I am a Type 2 Diabetic.  Have lost about 70 pounds and kept them off – until the last three months.  My doctor took me off of all meds when my A1c reached a very consisten 5.9 to 6.1. I control my Diabetes through diet and exercise.  You can see why I might be a bit concerned about a weight gain of any sort, right?

Back to what might be causing the weight gain.  Hormonal changes?  My doctor brought that up. Well, I thought those were exclusively the province of females.  Notice the past tense of that sentence.  My wonderful doctor corrected me.  I found out today that males go through them, too.   Yippeeee.  But, I don’t think it’s a hormone change.

And, I’m doing the same bit of exercise.  So, it’s not that.

brad-pitt-benjamin-button-adult

It didn’t take long for me to figure out it’s my 2:00 a.m. feedings.  I wake up and I am incredibly hungry at 2:00 a.m.  Is there some sort of major age regression going on?  Am I a real Benjamin Button (when is my hair going to grow back?)?  Will I look like Brad Pitt?  Don’t answer that!

What I have to do is to change a few things.  Like what, you ask?

I have to stop the 2:00 a.m. feedings.  Remember the sigh of relief when they ended, if you have children?  Well, I have to end them for myself.  I have to break what has become a habit.  Do you have any idea how ‘interesting’ it might be to try and break a habit when you are at your weakest and half-asleep?  To make the decision to just roll over and go back to sleep?  I’m not sure I know, but I’m going to find out – that’s for sure.  I might have to adjust how much I eat at dinner, or my later snack.  I will figure it out.

My motivation? To have a BMI of 24.9, or a bit lower and maintain an A1c of 6.1, or lower. When my weight is down; controlling Diabetes is sooooooo much easier.  Even with my 2:00 am feedings my morning glucose is in the mid 80’s, but I have to keep the weight off in order for that to continue.  My A1c is somewhere between 5.9 and 6.1, if my history is any indicator.  So, what do I have to do?  I just have to break a habit…been there and done that.  Just need to do it again.

Nobody ever said fighting a War On Diabetes would be easy.  It isn’t somedays.  It’s a constant battle that will go on for the rest of my life.  I accept that.  And, the plain fact is that I want to win that War more than I want to eat at 2:00 a.m.  (Easy to say now at 10:15 p.m.)

I break a habit.  The weight drops just a bit.  Cause and effect kind of thing.  What’s stopping you from winning your battle with Diabetes?  What’s stopping you from winning control in your War On Diabetes?  For many of us, control and victory starts with weight loss – and keeping it off.

You have three weapons – use them.  Diet. Exercise. Meds. Find the diet that works for you; lower carb works for me.  Exercise – walking is my main exercise with a bit of resistance training thrown in three times a week.  And, if you are on meds – take them!  Get that victory and win your War On Diabetes.

I believe you can.  I believe in you. Declare your War On Diabetes now.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
One comment on “2:00 AM Feedings
  1. mjohnson9706 says:

    Even with the alarm clock being the only source of light at bedtime, I found that sleeping in an eye mask was a double win. It helped me to start sleeping un-interrupted through the night which made the late night munchies habit easier to break.

    As with your successful battle thus far, you will succeed in this battle too. Stay strong Phil!

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

