An Accidental Discovery

Big Wiz Walking

It was The Tin Man yesterday; why not include the whole gang?

So, there I was taking my walk thinking about the blog topic, as I do when I walk.  And nothin’.  There was no single idea that was developing.  Free association wasn’t helping one little bit.  And, it’s not like I don’t have topics lined up to write about – I keep a notepad that has almost a month’s worth of blogs.

What in the world was my problem? I was pounding out my walk.  Step.  Step.  Step.  It was a great walk.  Sure, I had ideas – ideas that you will find when you subscribe to the Newsletter.  But there wasn’t one idea for tonight’s blog that was coming through and getting developed.  Never happened before.

Then, I noticed something.  I was looking at the sidewalk directly in front of me.  My head was down, in other words.  I don’t want to trip over some crack, or something, do I?  Of course not.  Then I raised my head and looked ahead.  I just raised my head a bit.  And, what happened?

My pace increased.  It wasn’t a huge increase, but I felt it.  It probably added all of two or three steps a minute.  It was enough for me to feel it.  So, being me, I experimented.  Looking down…and I’d slow down just a bit.  Look up and look around a bit, the pace picks up.  I tried it several times; and each time the same thing happened.

Self-fulfilling prophecy?  (See, I know what you’re thinking; I’d think the same thing.) I don’t know.  I just know that when I looked ahead, my pace increased automatically.

Now, I am not going to get into how life is better when you look up and look around.  I’d never do that.  Nor, will I draw any comparisons to looking up and being optimistic.  Another thing I would certainly never do…not a chance.  Nor will I draw any analogy to  life working a bit better when you know where you are going; in which case you have to look up.  Nope, won’t do it.  (Tell me, does sarcasm read well at all?)

I will tell you that basic instruction for walking for exercise emphasizes holding your head up.  Now, I know why.  Not only do you see where you are going, you move just a bit faster making the walk even a bit better for you.

And, there you have it.  I guess the idea got developed on the walk after-all.  If  Dorothy and The Gang did not keep there eyes up and looking forward, would they have ever made it to the Emerald City?  Okay, they cheated.  They had a road to follow, but then again, so do you.  Your road is made up of Diet, Exercise and Meds – follow it and you will find control.

Type 1’s can walk with their head up.  Type 2’s can walk looking ahead.  Even those with Prediabetes will do well with a simple walk looking forward to beating, or postponing the disease.

You can win your War On Diabetes – one step at a time.  Believe it – I do.

As always, thank you for reading!

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

