Bananas and the Age of Discovery

bananer_artiklar

Let me clear up a few things right away.  Even though it’s been rumored that I discovered bananas, that is false.  I love bananas, and am thankful they exist, but I did not ‘discover’ them.

And, the Age of Discovery?  Okay, I was not alive during that time, approximately 1420 to 1580.  I am playing with the title, but bear with me for a moment.

As I mentioned I love bananas.  What’s not to like, right?  They taste good.  Easy to eat.  Provide vitamins and are a good source of potassium and fiber.  All good, right?  Great on cereal.  Go well with peanut butter…or, chocolate, if you are so inclined.

For years I watched as old folks – really OLD folks – would carefully cut a banana in half and eat only half of it while setting the other half aside.  I couldn’t believe this.  Half of a banana just sitting there.  Were they going to eat it later?  Why didn’t they eat it now?  I’d eat it.

Of course, I weighed 240 to 250 pounds during some of those years.  I wasn’t turning down much food, was I?

So, then I was diagnosed with Diabetes.  Counting carbs.  Trying to control glucose.  Still eating bananas.  I was figuring that a banana had about 15 carbs.  That was my favorite number – 15 carbs.  When I was in doubt, I didn’t look it up.  I’d just assume 15 carbs.

One day I discovered (Age of Discovery!) that I was wrong.  Your basic small banana has about 30 carbs.  Half of a banana has 15 carbs.  Hmmmmmm.

Suddenly I was that person who was cutting a banana in half.  Funny how things come full circle.  And, I am not an old guy; I’m just a guy fighting my War On Diabetes.  Fighting to maintain weight loss and a normal A1c.  For those of you who have to lose a little weight, like I had to, eating half of a banana is a good start.  You know what this is called, right?  Portion control.

Now, half of a banana is just fine!  It’s enough.  And, I am winning my War On Diabetes.

You can win your War, too!  You can do it.  It’s all about making more ‘right’ choices and being informed.  Make enough right choices and you are beating Diabetes back to where it came from; or, at the very least controlling it.  Remember, for most it takes the combination of Diet, Exercise and Meds to control the disease.  Use all of the tools at your disposal and you will win the War.

By the way, there are so many carb counting apps for phones available it’s mind boggling.  Take a look.  A lot of them are free.  Some cost a couple of dollars.  They can be a huge help in your fight if you use the tool – it just becomes another weapon to vanquish Diabetes!

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Diabetes Control, Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

