Imagine

imaine

The woman I work with – she really does exist – and I were talking the other day.  Her comment that started the chat was, “Just imagine if you had taken control of Prediabetes like you did with Diabetes.  Can you imagine that?”  My first reaction was, “Well, duh, yeah.”  But she was so sincere, and really didn’t deserve that kind of response.

Yes, she really did make the comment.  This is not some ploy of mine to bring up Prediabetes.  Trust me, I couldn’t make up some of the conversations we have; I’d try and be way more clever and probably fail.  So, why not go with what I really have?

My response to her?  So typical of so many.  “My doctor told me about eight years ago that I had Prediabetes.  I did something, very little, almost nothing, for a couple of days.  And, then – nothing.”

“Do you think most people respond like that?”

“Oh, yeah.  Denial.  It won’t happen to me.  It’s only Prediabetes; it’s not really Diabetes, so I really don’t have to change anything.  Besides, I have time to change.  And, I don’t have time for Diabetes, anyway.  I think that just about covers most folks’ reactions.”

If you have been told you have Prediabetes, DO NOT follow my example.  Take action now, please.  Learn from my mistake in not doing anything.  Clearly, if you are reading this you are off to a good start in trying to learn what it means.

Change your diet to a lower carb diet – permanently.  And, begin to exercise a little.  No, you don’t have to go out and join a gym – which is what I thought and I knew I would never go.  Exercise means 30 minutes a day of activity.  For me, that meant I started to walk – which is still my basic form of exercise.  Don’t go for distance – go for the 30 minutes.  That’s it.  What’s the absolute worst thing that can happen?  That you might have the best health of your life.  Like that’s a bad thing?

Diet and exercise.  And, if your doctor prescribes them, take your meds as prescribed.  Remember to take them.

Diet, exercise and meds (if prescribed) and you can either reverse the Prediabetes, or postpone the onset of Diabetes.  Either way, you win. But, you have to declare War On Diabetes and fight it.  Just because it has the prefix “Pre” does not make it a less potent foe.  The disease has time and human nature on its side.  On your side is the determination not to let it win.

You can beat Prediabetes.  It takes a bit of determination, but you have that, don’t you?  I know you do and that you can win your War On Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Prediabetes

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

