When You Don’t Have 30 Minutes

30 minutes

You have read that all you need to do is to exercise 30 minutes a day.  And, you have read that fitness and exercise is an important weapon in your War On Diabetes..  And, you may have been in a class that tells you that you need to exercise 30 minutes a day.  You have read it or heard it so often that it’be beginning to irritate you.

“But, I don’t have 30 minutes.”

Yeah, days do get to be that way sometimes.  We try and pack 27 hours of activity into a 24 hour day.  It just doesn’t work too well, does it?

But, you still need to be active; you still need to exercise.  So, what do you do?

Well, some folks just don’t exercise at all.  Pushing the buttons on a TV remote becomes their exercise.

What about those folks who really want to exercise, though?  What happens when they can’t find that 30 minutes?  They improvise.

First, I don’t remember seeing anything telling us they have to be 30 continuous minutes.  It just has to be 30 minutes of movement per day.  When I know I am going to be challenged to get my walk in, I make sure I get my rear up out of the office chair and walk around a little.  I go outside to see how the weather is.  I take a 10 minute walk at lunch.  I walk across the office instead of using the messaging system and actually speak to someone.  I use the stairs instead of taking the elevator.  Little things, but they all add up.

And, then there’s the mother who ran in place in the kitchen while discussing school work with her kids.  Yep, that really happened.  Or, maybe you can take a few minutes to jump rope with your children.  That’s exercise, and it certainly counts – and your kids will love it.

Yes, you need to exercise, there’s no question about it.  Get creative and improvise when you can’t find the time.  Did you know that even 20 minutes of exercise and activity each day can make a difference in your battle to control Diabetes?

What will exercise and activity give you?  Better glucose control.  Lower cholesterol.  Weight loss.  Better health and a more positive outlook on life.  And, more!

You can win your War On Diabetes!

How do you get creative?  How do you improvise?

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
4 comments on “When You Don’t Have 30 Minutes
  1. It really doesn’t take much- We are in winter now and I am finding my walks not as consistent as they should be so I tend to do house work or walk around the shops or dare I say it dance around the house..lol

    • Shell,

      I have the same problem when days get shorter – I don’t walk quite as often as I should, so I have to find ways to make up for it. Keep Dancing – sounds like fun!

      Phil

  2. What you wrote is so true. I also resort to dancing as a fall back exercise. It’s fun and before you know it you’ve worked up a sweat. I also like to do push-ups, which one can do at home (when it’s raining or one’s too busy) or when one’s travelling. One just has to move.

    • Running,

      You are so right! Just move. The key word is activity…do something. Love the idea of being able to do push-ups and leg lifts in a hotel room, or when travelling.

      Thank you for taking the time to write us a comment.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

