In Which Half Is Better Than None!

oranges

There are so many foods that are off the diet, aren’t there?  So many things I can no longer eat – at least like I used to eat.

Oranges have been in season for about six weeks now.  The displays in the produce section make my mout water.  (I won’t tell you what happens when I walk through the bakery – kind of embarrassing!)  But, oranges…I just did not really want to give them up for the sake of Diabetes.  Know what I mean?  There must be a food that you sometimes crave that you can no longer eat without your glucose reading skyrocketing.  For me it was oranges.

Do you know what the carb count is in an orange?  Well, the best information I could find  was that one orange had about 30 carbs.  Yep.  Thirty carbs.  Way too many for this boy to even consider, so they were off the diet for the last two years.  No oranges for the last two years; that’s a long time for someone who loves oranges.

But, last week came along and I was buying oranges for the house.  I still know how to pick good ones!  As I was selecting the last orange I suddenly figured out that I could have half of an orange.  It was like being hit over the head.  Why didn’t I figure this out sooner? That would be good for less then 15 carbs.  Now, 15 carbs I can deal with, right?

I got home, cut the orange in half and was in heaven!  An orange never tasted so good.  And, when I checked my glucose, everything was just fine.  Suddenly, I can eat oranges again!

So, we are back at good ol’ portion control.  So what if I can’t have a whole orange?  I can have half today and half tomorrow.  You may not have the amount of certain foods you used to eat; but you can have a bit.  Figure out the right portion for your diet – the amount that won’t make your glucose skyrocket –  and enjoy every bite.

Use some common sense, too.  There are certain high glucose (sugar) foods that might never be on your diet, but you never know until you think about it and try it.  This disease of our’s is for life.  Enjoy your life.  But, use portion control.  That way you can enjoy foods and control your diabetes.  It will take a touch of will-power for some, but I know you have that in you.  I know you can do it.

Just think: You can eat some of the things you love, and still fight and win your War On Diabetes!

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

