What Have You Got To Lose?

Diet

In the space of 30 minutes I either heard on the radio or saw ads for 11 diets all of which practically guaranteed weight loss.  Well, since weight loss is so important to a lot of Type 2 Diabetics, why isn’t it easy to do.  I mean, with sooooo many plans and methods available one has to work for you.  Right?

Wrong.  All of the diets, except maybe the gastric bypass approach, are based on having diet discipline for a limited amount of time.  For Type 2’s, and Type 1’s diet discipline is a fact of life for your life if you are going to control Diabetes.  We don’t get to lose 10 pounds and then go and gain 11.  If you are going to control the disease, it will probably mean losing the weight and keeping it off.

For me, that meant a diet change to a lower carbohydrate diet.  My doctor told me I had to lose a little weight and I had to work to control the Diabetes.  Fewer carbs means less food is being processed into sugar by my body.  Fewer carbs = less glucose – which means whatever insulin my body is producing does not have to work as hard, or that I can take a loser dose of meds.

Am I making sense so far?

“But, Phil, what can I eat?  Get to the part where you tell me what I can eat.”

That’s the kicker.  There are some rules/guidelines to follow as you determine what you can eat, but no hard and fast diet plan because each one of us processes food a little differently.  What?  What that means is that I might be able to eat food that you can’t and still control Diabetes, and vice versa.  But, the basic rules apply to both of us.  In four words:

Eat a healthy diet.

“Great, but what does that mean?”  The Mayo Clinic has a great explanation of what that means.  Read it.  Or, take a look at what the ADA has to say, which is basically the same thing.  Fresh fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes (beans), and non-fat dairy.  It really is kind of easy.  Except, for most of us who have been eating fast food and extremely large portions, a change in thinking is necessary.  It’s not only what we eat, but how much we eat – aka portion control, which you can find out more about here.

Start by keeping a Food Diary.  List everything you eat.  List your readings – they give you immediate feedback on how you are doing.  You can find a Food Diary form here.  Use it to determine what YOU can eat and control your Diabetes.  I still use the Food Diary if I see a higher number in my glucose reading than I expect.  Most recently I was using it as my doctor took me off of meds so I could see the effect of any changes I made to my diet.  It’s a great tool..And, it’s the tool that will tell you exactly what your diet should be in order to win your War On Diabetes.

My greatest hope is that you learn that you can control Diabetes sooner rather than later.  You can control the disease if you fight it a bit.  And, Believe you can win your War On Diabetes.  I believe you can; do you?

I just saw that Shell, another blogger with Diabetes, happened to write about diet today.  give her blog a read – VERY inspirational.  She even provided photos that chronicle the before and after, so to speak.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

