Progress Report – Part Six

progress

I had my quarterly visit with my doctor, so I have new things to report.

Just a reminder about what I am doing.  My doctor told me that it was time for me to go off of my Diabetes med, Metformin, during my last appointment with him – about 12 weeks ago.  I was surprised that he would suggest it, but my A1c was at 6.1 and he knew I was taking less that the least effective dosage of Metformin.  His thought: why not stop it completely?  My thought: fear.  I loved my Metformin.  It allowed me to control Diabetes, or so I thought.  I promised the doctor I would be off of the med within three months; I was stopped taking it in less than one month and I have not seen much of a difference in my daily glucose readings.

So, how am I doing?

  • A1c test 12 weeks ago: 6.1.  A1c test from last week: 6.1.  The SAME!
  • Weight 12 weeks ago: 184.  Weight today: 182.  The doctor says I don’t need to lose any more weight.
  • Blood Pressure and Cholesterol: His words: “Perfect.”

The visit was better than I expected, actually, since I was making little adjustments for several weeks just to return to exactly what I had been doing and eating before I stopped taking Metformin.

New challenges: Well, the doctor now wants me to stop taking any cholesterol and blood pressure meds.  The blood pressure meds are ACE Inhibitors to protect my kidneys.  But, we don’t know if the BP is good due to them, or because it’s just good.  The same goes for cholesterol meds.  So, I am stopping both meds as of tonight.  I will see the doctor in two weeks for a BP check to determine if I can stay off of the med.  He will be ordering a full blood work-up in about 12 weeks to check on cholesterol.

So, as of this moment – I am med free.  We will see if it lasts.

New discovery about myself: I am a bit obsessive about my fight with Diabetes.  Like you hadn’t figured that out, by now.  But you know what, it takes being obsessive to win the fight.  I need to watch my diet at every meal and between meals.  I need to get myself out and exercise five and six days a week.  I need to be vigilant.

One other little change: the number of times I test my glucose each day.  The numbers were driving me nuts because I saw these big fluctuations sometimes, but they told me how I was doing.  My doctor said I didn’t have to test nearly as often – once a day in the morning would be fine.  Even less often, if I wanted.  He knows I rely on the numbers for near instant feedback, but his point is that I don’t need to check quite as often.

I think he has another goal that he isn’t telling me about.  Just like when he wanted me to lose 65 or 70 pounds – he never told me how much in the beginning; he only said I needed to lose a little weight.  I have this idea he wants me to relax a bit; not be quite as obsessive.  And, that by checking glucose less frequently I will come to see that the numbers are steady and reliable as long as I am following my diet and exercising – the right numbers will just happen.  And I will continue to win my War On Diabetes.

He’s a tricky guy.

As always, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!
3 comments on “Progress Report – Part Six
  1. Such FANTASTIC news Phil.. Your news has put a huge smile on my face,,,, Congrats!!!

  2. Barbara says:

    Congrats. I am hoping with continued work on my diet and exercise I will get to this point. Cross my fingers.

    • Barbara,

      Thank you for taking the time to read this blog – I appreciate it a great deal.

      Know that you can do it. You can control your Diabetes. You can be med-free if that is what you and your doctor decide is the best course for you. The important thing is to control the disease. Be patient with yourself. I am very fortunate to have a doctor who believes in using the least amount of medication necessary to achieve a goal. I hope your doctor is the same. I know that you can win your War On Diabetes; that you can control the disease.

      Please let me know how you are doing.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

