501’s, Surprises, and Unintended Benefits

501s

Clinton was President. Technology as we know it today was in its infancy.  The world still held mysteries; I could dream of the Baghdad described in Arabian Nights.  And, I wore Levi 501’s.

You know what 501’s are, right?  Those iconic button-fly jeans from Levis that wear like iron and fit so wonderfully.  I loved ’em.  You couldn’t wear them out.  There were Levis – and then there was everybody else.  Then I got a bit older…my body changed (okay, I gained a little weight – not much) and those wonderful 501’s didn’t fit quite right.

Fast forward to a couple of years ago.  I have Diabeetes – no news there, right?  And, because I work to control it, I lost some weight.  I lost the weight as a result of fighting to control Diabetes – it just happened and is a wonderful by-product.

About a year ago I tried on a pair of 501’s just to see what they were like; how they fit me. They weren’t quite right, so I figured that I was too old to wear them; that my body had permanently changed and what I found to be comfortable at one time, was no longer comfortable to wear.  I was okay with that.

Today, I saw a display of 501’s and I thought what the heck.  I have been exercising more…maybe they might fit.  So, I grabbed a pair and went into a changing room.  With a bit of fear I pulled them up and buttoned the fly…the same old motion I did years ago.  And…they fit!  They were comfortable.  501’s were back in my life!

But, this is not a story about Levis.  It’s a story about the unintended benefits that come from controlling Diabetes.  For me, today was about Levis.  For me, each day is about a healthier me.  Not just controlling Diabetes, but because I fight each day through diet and exercise, I am healthier.  In fact, during the last two years I have enjoyed better over-all health than in the previous 25 years.  That was an unintended benefit of controlling Diabetes.

Is fighting a War On Diabetes easy?  No, but it’s not really that hard once you develop new habit patters.  There might be diet changes; and by diet I mean what you eat – not some fad diet.  A diet that is a bit lower in carbs and heavy on the fresh vegetables, fruits and whole grains.  In two words, a ‘balanced diet.’

And, you might have to add a bit of exercise.  Work your heart just a bit.  Burn a few calories.  As a result of my bit of exercise – again it was unintended, I am not as hungry and eat less food.  Less food means fewer carbs going in which results in lower glucose readings.  I know it doesn’t make sense on the surface, but it works.  Give it a chance.

And, take your meds as prescribed.

Diet.  Exercise.  Meds.  Just three things to do.

What is your 501?

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
One comment on “501’s, Surprises, and Unintended Benefits

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

