Dear Friend…A Letter for Friends of Diabetics

friend tag

Remember when you first told someone you had Diabetes?  Do you remember their reaction?  I found their reactions interesting…and rarely uplifting.  Most of them looked as if I told them I was going to die in a month.  They looked so very sorry for me; as if the world were ending.

Well, let me assure you that the world did not end.  The Sun still shines.  Water is still wet.  And…would you believe grass is still green?  Yeah, just looked – it’s still green.  So, I have come to the conclusion that an open letter to friends is needed…

****

Dear Friend,

I have just been diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes.  It’s not a death sentence and any rumor of my death is greatly exaggerated   I’m alive and breathing, but have to make a couple of changes in my life.

First, you probably need to know what Type 2 Diabetes is.  “In type 2 diabetes, either the body does not produce enough insulin or the cells ignore the insulin. Insulin is necessary for the body to be able to use glucose for energy. When you eat food, the body breaks down all of the sugars and starches into glucose, which is the basic fuel for the cells in the body. Insulin takes the sugar from the blood into the cells. When glucose builds up in the blood instead of going into cells, it can lead to diabetes complications.”  I got that right off of the American Diabetes Association website – did not want to mess it up.

So, now you know.  My body does not process glucose (sugar) well.  Why do I have it?  It could be hereditary.  Or, it might be because I have spent too many years eating too much and not exercising enough.  It really doesn’t matter why; it matters that I have it and you can’t catch Diabetes from me.  Okay?  As I learn more about Diabetes, I will let you know, if you ask.

Those changes I mentioned.  My diet needs to change.  Fewer carbs.  More raw vegetables. Probably less food.  Yeah, I’m going to be watching portion sizes.  Portion sizes are really important when battling Diabetes.  A few foods I will probably have to learn to live without, but will figure that out as I go.  Encourage me to stick to my diet…no matter how much I want that piece of pie…just say the word, “sugar.”  I’ll understand.

I am going to have to start exercising.  So, I could use an exercise buddy.  I will not be working out to be a body builder – at least in the beginning.  I just need to walk and having a friend along would be great.  Or, a friend to remind me to walk.

Oh, and I might need someone to remind me to take my meds once in a while.  No nagging – just remind me; ask me if I am getting my meds.

This is all so new to me.  But with your help, I will win and beat Diabetes.

Your Friend.

****

For some reason I thought this was important tonight.  Feel free to rip it right out and use it.  The same letter will work with a few minor changes for Prediabetes – don’t be alone when you fight that one, either.

“A friend is someone who knows all about you and still loves you.” 
― Elbert Hubbard

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!, Prediabetes

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

