Lessons From Diabetes – Change

Thinking

You know that I keep notes on topics for the blog, right?  And I use my walk each evening to think about what I am going to write about.  Mostly, I just let my mind wander and the gears turn as they will.  Sooner or later it locks on a topic.  Tonight a chat I had over six months ago came to mind, and I am sure that chat will give birth to more posts.

I was talking with someone about business on the phone; someone I have never met in person.  The topic of Diabetes came up (bet you’re surprised that happened), and we talked about lessons learned from successfully controlling the disease.  I was taken back.  I was so centered on Diabetes, I didn’t realize I was learning lessons that have a much bigger application.

For example, change.  I don’t like change.  In fact, I have never met anyone who really likes it.  If people really liked change, there wouldn’t be a whole group of consultants making a very good living who do nothing but advise on change management.  Change is tough.  But, if you are going to successfully control Diabetes – with or without meds – successful change is vital.

And, we are not talking about just one change here, are we?  No.  Oh, no.  We are talking a lot of change in some very tough areas to change.  Like exercise.  Hey, I hated exercise.  I didn’t want to do anything extra – not a thing.  I was very happy not exercising in any way, shape, or form.  I didn’t think anything could get me to exercise.  You don’t get to be 250 lbs (114K for some) by exercising.  But, you can get Diabetes.

So, I had to change my mind about exercising and getting my rear out there.  Sure, it was baby steps at first.  But I got out there.  I knew that I could not remain where I was and live a full life.  Plus, I was terrified of the complications Diabetes will bring if not controlled.

Take that one step further.  Just one more step and go into the workplace.  Work changes everyday for some of us.  New people.  New processes.  New kinds of work.  New jobs.  Promotions.  And on, and on.  A Diabetic who is successfully controlling their disease should be a master at change; should be able to adapt and be successful with just about any change work can throw at them.

Think about it.  The successful Diabetic, one who is tightly controlling the disease,  has already had to change their diet, exercise, take meds as prescribed, probably lost weight, lowered blood pressure, and lowered cholesterol.  It doesn’t happen by meds alone, and it doesn’t happen by accident.  It takes effort – your effort.  Fighting your War On Diabetes and winning.  Good Lord, think about it for just a moment.  You are successfully fighting a disease; what’s a little change at work?  You are a Change Master!

If you are having a hard time with the changes it takes to fight Diabetes, take a moment to look at this little booklet by Dr. William Polonsky; it can help you through the stages of change that a Diabetic goes through.  Also, take a look at his website.  And, no, I don’t get anything for mentioning him or it.

And, that is just one of the Lessons From Diabetes.  There are more.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Lessons From Diabetes

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

