Say Hello to Bob

hello

I talk with folks everyday and some of them know I am a Diabetic.  Imagine that!  Anyway, one of the people I talk with is Bob – not his real name.  Bob is about 55 and by his admission, could stand to lose 30 pounds.  He is also a Type 2 Diabetic and is surrounded, literally surrounded, by folks who do not control their Diabetes, so he sees the complications of Diabetes on a first-hand basis.

Well, we talked a little business the other day and then out of the blue he asks me how much weight I have lost.  I told him, “60 or 65 pounds, depends on the morning.”  (The truth is that as of this morning I can legitimately claim 70 pounds…but that is another story.)  After saying something nice, he said he needed to lose 30 pounds and begin to get his Diabetes under control.  

Bob has Diabetes.  He is over-weight.  He sees how complications can affect lives.  He knows he needs to take some steps to get Diabetes under control.  Why isn’t he?  If I could only answer that question…

Controlling Diabetes means change for most – and change is hard.  Very hard for a lot of folks.  Changing the way we eat and relate to food.  Yes, I used the word relate because I think we sometimes have a relationship with food…but that is a thought that is just being born and have to do more research and thinking.  We have to change our activity levels.  We have to change to make sure we take our meds.

There’s a lot of changing going on, isn’t there?  Well, if you are going to control Diabetes, chances are you will have to do a little changing.  And, where do you begin?  As the Good Witch told Dorothy, “It’s always good to start at the beginning.”  Hmmmm…that does not help much, does it?  But, there is a Yellow Brick Road to follow…if you take the first step.

I know where I began; with a walk, a food diary and a desire to control Diabetes, which means I took my meds.  The desire came out of my fear of the complications that Diabetes can bring – I have a first class imagination and could see myself with the complications!  So, on the day of my diagnosis, I took my first walk.  Not a long walk.  Not a fast walk. In old shoes and jeans.  It was just a walk, which was one more walk than I had done in the previous ten years.  I started my food diary.  Just a pad of paper on which I wrote everything I ate.  No faking it.  No cheating.  If I ate it, I listed it.  And, I started my meds.

From the first day, I was out to control Diabetes.  Somewhere along the line you have to make the same decision; that you are going to control the disease; that you are declaring War On Diabetes.  And, when you do, I’d love to know so I can be your cheerleader because I know you can do it.  It’s just getting out there and taking the first steps (literally) and beginning your journey to control Diabetes.  How great is that?  You can control a disease…do you know how amazing that is?

You can do it.  I know it.  You need to know it, too.

Please let me know if you are ready to declare War On Diabetes.  I’d love to hear from you.

As always, thank you for reading.

 

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

