In Which I Lose A Battle and Learn

looking back

I just read the last post.  I sometimes do that just to see how it strikes me.  Is it still true?  Does it mean something?  Is there something I can pick-up from it?  (Does that sound way too weird that I would look back and be reminded about something from one of my own posts?  Go figure.)

What caught my attention?

“It was one little battle in my War On Diabetes – and I won it.  The War is made up of little battles.  Some you win; most, I hope.  Once in a while, you might lose the battle.  But, never give up.  The War is long…just keep fighting and controlling.”

That’s what caught my attention.  A reminder that we are in the battle of a lifetime for our lifetimes.  Face it; fighting Diabetes is not for wimps.  There are days of victory and triumph and there are days of discouragement and loss.  My hope is that your days of victory vastly outnumber your days of discouragement.  Victory takes patience, persistance and courage.

So, what brought all of this on?  I took a home A1c test tonight.  Yes, I expected it to show an increase in my results.  Going off of meds, as my doctor wanted me to do, has been far harder than I anticipated; which is why I might have feared it – not sure about all of that.  In January of this year, while still on meds and using the same test, my results were 5.6.  Tonight I got 5.9.  I know why it happened in my brain.  I tried to compensate for going off of meds and was eating less at meals, but then actually eating more between meals.  A net increase of food and carbs.  A person I know would call that “pretty messed up.”

So, now I have things more less straight.  I am getting glucose numbers before dinner of 85 to 95.  My morning glucose is in the same range.  I exercise after dinner and find that my numbers don’t return to normal (under 100 is my ‘normal’) for about three hours.

Getting back on track.  Fighting Diabetes is a lifetime commitment   It’s not going to go away; it will always be lurking and waiting to jump back out.  The battle is long; and it’s as short as one meal at a time.  The fight to control Diabetes is not always easy; but the results are so very rewarding.  The important issue is not winning every battle; but that you are fighting and winning more than you are losing.

lose battles win war

You can win the fight.  You might lose a battle here and there, but you can win your War.  There is no doubt in my mind.  It’s not always easy; but it is always rewarding.

As always, and will all sincerity, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “In Which I Lose A Battle and Learn
  1. Hang in there Phil- Your doing a wonderful job in controlling your Type 2… My motto is remember your only human…

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

