The Battle of the Biscuit

Biscuits

Dinner tonight was one of those rotisserie chickens from the grocery store.  You know what I’m talking about, right?  Well, if you don’t, just know that a lot of the grocery stores in the US offer already cooked chickens – and they are pretty good.  Low carbs.  Moist.  All I had to do was make a salad when I got home.  Making dinner was very easy tonight.

So, there I was in the store picking up the chicken in the deli department,  Displayed right next to the chickens, so you could not miss them, were beautiful biscuits and wonderful cornbread.  Two of my very favorite foods.  I love them both with a slight edge going to the biscuits.  I mean, what goes better with chicken than biscuits, right?

Even now I am salivating as I think of warm cornbread with honey.  Warm biscuits with a bit of strawberry preserves.  I might need a moment, here…

Okay, better.  Anyway, there were two foods that I love – and have not had for a long time.  Yes, I have taken a taste once in awhile, which is fine most of the time.  But, tonight, I wanted the whole biscuit or a huge piece of cornbread.  I found myself looking at them both, trying to decide which one I might take home.  It was a ‘one of the other’ situation.  Hey, in the days before Diabetes, it would have been both!  Remember those days?

balance scale

I picked up the biscuits – literally held the package of fresh biscuits in my hand.  And, then I looked at the cornbread….then noticed the corn muffins sitting next to it.  Noooooooo….not corn muffins, too!  Really, it was an embarrassment of riches in terms of foods that I love.  (You have to understand I don’t go into the deli area very often – on purpose.)  There I was, mentally weighing what would happen to my glucose against these foods…the scale was going back and forth.

After about two minutes, I just shrugged my shoulders and lovingly put the biscuits back on the shelf.  The price in terms of carbs was just too high for the momentary enjoyment I  would get from them.  Was I tempted?  Oh, yeah.  But somewhere along the line my desire to control my Diabetes was stronger.  I knew I would pay a price if I had either food, and I just wasn’t willing to pay it.

I am still salivating over the biscuits and cornbread, but I turned and left them in the store.  Is my life better because of it?  Probably not.  Will my glucose reading be lower in the morning because I didn’t buy one of the other…or both?  Definitely – and that is when I will get my reward for saying, “Not this time.”

It was one little battle in my War On Diabetes – and I won it.  The War is made up of little battles.  Some you win; most, I hope.  Once in a while, you might lose the battle.  But, never give up.  The War is long…just keep fighting and controlling.

As always, I do thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
3 comments on “The Battle of the Biscuit
  1. ligeia78 says:

    Good for you! I know how hard it is to put them back…I’m still working on that myself.

  2. mjohnson9706 says:

    Darn good job Phil, I like the way you think!!

    • Thank you. Each day is an adventure, isn’t it? Each day brings its own victories…and every once in a while, a defeat. Just ahve to win more than you lose!

      As always, I appreciate your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

