Is It Worth It?

is it worth it

One day, that started out pretty much like any other day, you are sitting in your doctor’s office being told you have Diabetes.  If you are anything like me, you are just grateful it’s not cancer he’s telling you about.  I mean, it’s just Diabetes.  How bad can it be?  Yeah…how bad can it be?  (If you are a regular reader, you already know.  If not, take a look; you might be in for a surprise.  If that is not enough, here’s a list from the ADA.)

And, if this ‘little’ chat goes the way mine did, the doctor is going to suggest a few changes.  A bit of weight loss.  A bit of exercise.  A ‘sensible’ diet that avoids sugars and carbs..  And, oh yes, you will probably be on meds the rest of your life.  Basically, you are being told you should change almost everything; not so easy, but doable.

Change is hard.  Like I’m telling you something new, right?  You make a few steps forward; one back.  Repeat again and again.  It’s work.  So, the question becomes, “Is it worth it?”

Well, that depends on how important it is to you to control your Diabetes.  Here’s where I began:

  • Height: 6′ 0″
  • Weight: Call it 250 lbs.
  • Waist: 40, headed toward 42.
  • A1c: 12.9, close to 13.0
  • Blood Glucose Reading: 307 for the first one.
  • Meds: Metformin to begin with. Then Janumet – two different dosages. Then back to Metformin.  Lipitor for cholesterol.  ACE Inhibitor to protect kidneys from Metformin.
  • General Health: Not sick all of the time, but not great.  Allergies seemed to hit me often.

Here’s where I am today:

  • Height: 6′ 0″
  • Weight: 184 lbs. this morning
  • Waist: 36, headed toward 35.
  • A1c: 5.9 to 6.1 for the last almost two years.
  • Blood Glucose Reading: 88 this morning.
  • Meds: Lipitor for cholesterol.  ARB for blood pressure.  I expect to be removed from those drugs in May.
  • General Health: Excellent.  Even my allergies are far less severe and I rarely take anything for them.

So, is fighting Diabetes worth it?  Well, duh.  Yeah.  And, I am not unique.  There are folks all across the county and globe that fight to control Diabetes – and win.  You can do it. It’s all about choice and making the right choices that lead to winning The War.

Yes, I don’t eat ice cream like I once did.  I eat less pasta – far less.  I avoid cookies, pies, and cakes.  Sometimes I will take a bite of one and find that it’s really all I need or want.  I find I like salads more.  I haven’t had a baked potato in well over a year.  I have not had a milk shake in three and a half years – and don’t miss them (most days).

Is my life better than when I was diagnosed with Diabetes?  Oh, yes.  Does it take a bit of work?  Yeah.  Can you do it?  YEAH.  No doubt in my brain that you can do it.  You can make the choice to live a better, healthier life starting now.  Right now.

Take the first step to beat Diabetes by declaring war and then fighting to win it.

As always, that you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

