Progress Report – Part Five

progress

It’s been just about three weeks since my last Progress Report, and I thought that last report to you might have been my final report.  Well, I was wrong.  I continue to learn.

Just a reminder about what I am doing.  My doctor told me that it was time for me to go off of my Diabetes med, Metformin, during my last appointment with him.  I was surprised that he would suggest it, but my A1c was at 6.1 and he knew I was taking less that the least effective dosage of Metformin.  His thought, why not stop it completely.  My reaction: fear.  I loved my Metformin.  It allowed me to control Diabetes, or so I thought.  I promised the doctor I would be off of the med within three months; I was stopped taking it in less than one month and I have not seen much of a difference in my daily glucose readings.

Last week I went in to see my pharmacist to let him know I was off of Metformin.  The last thing I want is for bottles of meds to be in a cupboard.  After telling me congratulations, he removed the Metformin from the computer.  Removing it from the computer is huge!  It meant I was officially off of it.  Can’t get it unless my doctor puts me back on it.  And, that ain’t gonna happen.

glucose meters

One of the things I have learned recently is that I have to allow for the occasional higher-than-I want glucose test result.  What I want is readings that are completely normal for a non-diabetic (80 to 100 in the morning; less than 120 two hours after beginning to eat).  But, I can’t worry too much about it if I see it once a month, or so, as long as I am down when I check it again in an hour, or so.   Yes, I’m incredibly anal about these readings – they are the only score card we have to tell us how we are doing on a daily basis.  The only way for us to know how we are controlling Diabetes each day is through taking a drop of blood.  Which is why it is so very, very, very important to test.

It’s great that we can know how we are doing so fast.  There is no other disease that I know of that gives you such immediate feedback.  It takes weeks, months, and sometimes years to know if a cancer treatment has been effective.  Not so with Diabetes – we know almost immediately.

Why did I choose cancer for the example?  Because we have an almost universal fear of it; we know it can lead to death.  We know we have no control over the disease.  It hits people from out of the blue, and hits hard.  Diabetes, quite often, comes on slowly and sneaks up on you very quietly.  But, it can be reversed or postponed while it’s gaining a foot hold in our bodies.  Yes, Prediabetes can be reversed.  But, if you don’t do anything to fight it, Diabetes will become a reality.

Have you ever heard a Diabetic say, “I am so glad I have Diabetes.”  I don’t think so; actually most of the folks I have spoken with would be glad to give it away. We need to have the same respect for Diabetes that we have for cancer.

I got a bit sidetracked just then…Anyway, I adjusted my eating habits a bit when I went off of Metformin.  Why would I do that?  Because I am anal about the disease and never want to go back on the med.  I began to eat fewer carbs at each meal.  But, then I found myself getting hungry – really hungry – within a couple of hours of eating…and really hungry at 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning.  Instead of eating less, I was actually eating more.  My glucose readings went up by 10 and 15 points -which is kind of a big increase for me – like nearly 20%.  For me, that meant seeing a 95 to 100 in the morning instead of the 85 that I normally saw.

That’s nuts.  I had to make a change.

So, I added some carbs back in to my dinner.  Not many carbs – 12 to 16 of them.  You know what?  I’m not getting hungry.  The 2:00 feedings have ceased  And, my glucose readings are right where they should be.

My diet is back under control and I continue to exercise with walking five or six days a week and three or four days of a bit of resistance work.  Total exercise time on a walking and resistance days – 38 to 40 minutes from start to finish.  So, not a lot of time spent exercising, but enough to show the results I want.

I imagine I will have still more learnings as I go and will let you know as I figure them out.  You know what my goal is: To help you win your War On Diabetes.

As always, Thank you so much for reading.  You can fight and win against Diabetes.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!
One comment on “Progress Report – Part Five
  1. Phil…. You and I must be on the same war path when it comes to this disease..I find out Thursday if I can come off my meds… Your doing brilliant… well done… I wish more people took Diabetes so seriously..

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

